## ST. MARY'S COUNTY GOVERNMENT

## COMMISSIONERS OF ST. MARY'S COUNTY



James R. Guy, President Michael R. Alderson, Jr., Commissioner Eric S. Colvin, Commissioner Michael L. Hewitt, Commissioner Scott R. Ostrow, Commissioner

House Bill 391 - County Boards of Education - Elections for Members Representing Specific Districts - Alterations

January 28, 2025

The Honorable Vanessa E. Atterbeary, Chair House Ways and Means Committee 131 Taylor House Office Building Annapolis, Maryland 21401

RE: House Bill 391 - County Boards of Education - Elections for Members Representing Specific Districts - Alterations

Dear Chairman Atterbeary:

The Commissioners of St. Mary's County <u>OPPOSE</u> House Bill 391 - County Boards of Education - Elections for Members Representing Specific Districts - Alterations which is being heard in the Ways and Means Committee.

We urge an unfavorable report on House Bill 391. We do not support the introduction of this legislation and do not believe it would benefit the citizens of St. Mary's County. Thank you for your consideration as well as your attention to this matter.

Sincerely,

COMMISSIONERS OF ST. MARY'S COUNTY

James Randy Guy, President

CSMC/AB/tr T:/Consent/2025/010

Cc: Senator Jack Bailey
Delegate Matthew Morgan
Delegate Brian Crosby
Commissioner Mike Alderson, Jr.
Commissioner Eric Colvin
Commissioner Michael Hewitt
Commissioner Scott R. Ostrow
David Weiskopf, County Administrator
David Yingling, Deputy County Administrator
Buffy Giddens, County Attorney
John Sterling Houser, Deputy County Attorney