

P.O. BOX 870 SALISBURY, MARYLAND 21803-0870 410-548-4696 FAX: 410-548-7872

WICOMICO COUNTY COUNCIL John T. Cannon, President/At-Large Jeff Merritt, Vice-President/District #2 James Winn, At-Large Shanie Shields, District #1 Shane T. Baker, District #3

Josh Hastings, District #4 Joe Holloway, District #5 Laura Hurley, Council Administrator

January 17, 2025

Ways and Means Committee Attn: Honorable Delegate Vanessa E. Atterbeary, Chair 130 Taylor House Office Building Annapolis, Maryland 21401

RE: Wicomico County – HB133/SB183 – State Department of Assessments and Taxation – Notification of Constant Yield Tax Rate - Repeal

Dear Honorable Chairwoman Atterbeary and Committee Members,

We are writing to express our opposition to HB133/SB183, which would repeal the requirement for SDAT to provide the constant yield tax rate to counties and municipalities. This bill raises serious concerns for Wicomico County, particularly given our revenue cap and our reliance on this critical information to develop and pass our annual budget.

As you are aware, the constant yield rate is a crucial tool for maintaining transparency and fiscal responsibility. Without this data provided directly by SDAT, counties like ours would face unnecessary administrative burdens and potential delays in budget planning. This issue is not unique to Wicomico County; Talbot County and other jurisdictions with similar constraints would also be negatively impacted.

We strongly recommend amending the bill to preserve the requirement for SDAT to produce and send the constant yield rate data directly to the Wicomico County Finance Department. This simple adjustment would protect the county from unnecessary challenges while maintaining the transparency and accountability essential to effective governance.

Should you have any questions or require additional clarification, please contact the Council Office at 410-548-4696.

Sincerely,

WICOMICO COUNTY, MARYLAND

John T. Cannon, Council President

Cc:

Wicomico County Council Wicomico County Delegation Wicomico County Executive

Bunky Luffman, Director of Administration