
 

HB570 Talbot County- Hotel Rental Tax- Time Penalty for Nonpayment 

Ways and Means Committee 

Tuesday, February 11, 2025 

 

What This Bill Does 

HB 570 would change the Maryland Local Government Code and the Talbot County Public 

Accommodations Tax Code, attached.  HB570 allows Talbott County to enforce hotels to pay the 

hotel rental tax within one month after the payment is due. If the hotel fails to pay the rental tax 

within one month a penalty of 10% on the unpaid tax shall be imposed. 

 

Why We Need This Bill 

Currently, Talbot and Wicomico County have an extended grace period that the hotel rental tax 

is to be paid within 120 days while all other counties impose this penalty after 1 month after the 

payment is due. This proposed amendment would bring Talbot County in line with every other 

county in Maryland except Wicomico. Previously the 120-day grace period Talbot enacted has 

negatively impacted the collection, reporting, compliance monitoring, and distribution of the 

accommodations tax to the count and its municipalities in Talbot County. Ultimately HB570 

would improve these aspects for Talbot County and its municipalities. 

 

The Talbot County Delegation respectfully asks the Committee for a favorable vote on  

HB 570   

 

 

 

§20-426 of the Maryland Local Government Code 

§172-8 of the Talbot County Public Accommodations Tax Code. 


