Bill number does not exist. Enter a vaild keyword.
Facebook Twitter Youtube Channels MY MGA


2009 Regular Session


File Code: Environment
Sponsored By:
Delegates Bartlett, Hecht, Boteler, Cardin, Carr, Carter, Conaway, George, Haddaway, Ivey, Kullen, Murphy, O'Donnell, Olszewski, Rice, Walker, Walkup, Frick, Gilchrist, Shank, Elmore, Howard, Doory, Hixson, Barve, Ross, Kaiser, Myers, Stukes, Aumann, Beidle, Bobo, Bronrott, G. Clagett, DeBoy, Lee, Mizeur, Stein, and Waldstreicher
Alternative Energy Tax Incentive Act of 2009


Exempting from the sales and use tax the sale of residential wind energy equipment; clarifying that solar energy property that uses solar thermal electric energy is exempt from the State and local property tax; exempting from the State and local property tax residential wind energy equipment; and defining terms.

History by Legislative and Calendar Date

Legislative date is used to record history occurring in the Chambers otherwise Calendar date is used.
House Action
First Reading Ways and Means
Hearing 3/11 at 1:00 p.m.
Favorable with Amendments Report by Ways and Means
Favorable with Amendments Report Adopted
Second Reading Passed with Amendments
Third Reading Passed (135-0)
Returned Passed
Senate Action
First Reading Budget and Taxation
Hearing 4/3 at 1:00 p.m.
Favorable Report by Budget and Taxation
Favorable Report Adopted
Second Reading Passed
Third Reading Passed (47-0)
Action after passage in House and Senate
Approved by the Governor
- Chapter 444

Sponsored by:

Delegate Joseph R. Bartlett, District 4A
Delegate Susan L. M. Aumann, District 42
Delegate Kumar P. Barve, District 17
Delegate Pamela Beidle, District 32
Delegate Elizabeth Bobo, District 12B
Delegate Joseph C. Boteler, III, District 8
Delegate William A. Bronrott, District 16
Delegate Jon S. Cardin, District 11
Delegate Alfred C. Carr, Jr., District 18
Delegate Jill P. Carter, District 41
Delegate Galen R. Clagett, District 3A
Delegate Frank M. Conaway, Jr., District 40
Delegate Steven J. DeBoy, Sr., District 12A
Delegate Ann Marie Doory, District 43
Delegate D. Page Elmore, District 38A
Delegate C. William Frick, District 16
Delegate Ron George, District 30
Delegate Jim Gilchrist, District 17
Delegate Jeannie Haddaway, District 37B
Delegate Sue Hecht, District 3A
Delegate Sheila E. Hixson, District 20
Delegate Carolyn J. B. Howard, District 24
Delegate Jolene Ivey, District 47
Delegate Anne R. Kaiser, District 14
Delegate Sue Kullen, District 27B
Delegate Susan C. Lee, District 16
Delegate Heather R. Mizeur, District 20
Delegate Peter Murphy, District 28
Delegate LeRoy E. Myers, Jr., District 1C
Delegate Anthony J. O'Donnell, District 29C
Delegate John A. Olszewski, Jr., District 6
Delegate Craig L. Rice, District 15
Delegate Justin D. Ross, District 22
Delegate Christopher B. Shank, District 2B
Delegate Dana Stein, District 11
Delegate Melvin L. Stukes, District 44
Delegate Jeff Waldstreicher, District 18
Delegate Jay Walker, District 26
Delegate Mary Roe Walkup, District 36

Bill indexed under the following Subjects:

Agriculture -see also- Farmland
Energy Matters -see also- Fuel; Power Plants; Solar Energy
Equipment -see also- Motor Vehicle Equipment
Housing -see also- Apartments; Condominiums; Mobile Homes
Property Tax
Real Property
Refuse Disposal -see also- Recycling
Sales and Use Tax
Solar Energy

Bill affects the following Statutes:

Tax - General
( 11-230 )
Tax - Property
( 7-242 )


Bill Text (Displayed in PDF Format): First Reading, Third Reading, Enrolled, Chapter
Fiscal and Policy Note (Displayed in PDF Format): Available
Amendments (Displayed in PDF Format):
Number: 975660/01     Offered on: March 28, 2009   at: 3:00 p.m.     Status: Adopted
Roll Call Votes (Legislative dates are shown):
March 26, 2009: Third Reading Passed (135-0)
April 6, 2009: Third Reading Passed (47-0)
Click to return on the top page