Bill number does not exist. Enter a vaild keyword.
Facebook Twitter Youtube Channels MY MGA


2011 Regular Session


File Code: Vehicle Laws - Drunk Driving
Sponsored By:
Delegates Vallario, Alston, Anderson, Arora, Barnes, Carter, Clippinger, Cluster, Conaway, Dumais, Dwyer, Hough, Howard, Ivey, K. Kelly, Lee, McComas, McDermott, Mitchell, Niemann, Oaks, Parrott, Rosenberg, Simmons, Smigiel, Summers, Valderrama, Valentino-Smith, Vaughn, Waldstreicher, Barkley, Frank, Frick, Hixson, Hucker, Kach, Kaiser, A. Kelly, Krebs, Luedtke, A. Miller, Mizeur, Ready, Reznik, Sophocleus, Stein, Wilson, Eckardt, Afzali, George, Haddaway-Riccio, McMillan, W. Miller, and Stocksdale
Drunk Driving Reduction Act


Expanding participation in the Ignition Interlock System Program by authorizing specified individuals who have committed a specified alcohol-related administrative offense to be participants under specified circumstances; expanding participation in the Program by requiring specified individuals who are convicted of drunk driving and who had an alcohol concentration at the time of testing of .15 or more to participate in the program for specified periods of time and successfully complete the Program; etc.

History by Legislative and Calendar Date

Legislative date is used to record history occurring in the Chambers otherwise Calendar date is used.
House Action
First Reading House Rules and Executive Nominations
Re-referred Judiciary
Hearing 3/9 at 1:00 p.m.

Favorable with Amendments Report by Judiciary
Favorable with Amendments Report Adopted
Floor Committee Amendment Adopted
Motion Special Order until 3/24 (Kramer B) Rejected
Second Reading Passed with Amendments
Motion vote previous question (Delegate Minnick) Adopted
Third Reading Passed (118-17)
House Concur - Senate Amendments
Third Reading Passed (132-5)
Passed Enrolled
Senate Action
First Reading Judicial Proceedings
Hearing 3/31 at 1:00 p.m.
Favorable with Amendments Report by Judicial Proceedings
Favorable with Amendments Report Adopted
Floor Committee Amendment (Judicial Proceedings) Adopted
Second Reading Passed with Amendments
Floor Amendment (Senator Raskin) Adopted
Third Reading Passed with Amendments (47-0)
Action after passage in House and Senate
Approved by the Governor
- Chapter 557

Sponsored by:

Delegate Joseph F. Vallario, Jr., District 27A
Delegate Kathy Afzali, District 4A
Delegate Tiffany T. Alston, District 24
Delegate Curt Anderson, District 43
Delegate Sam Arora, District 19
Delegate Charles Barkley, District 39
Delegate Ben Barnes, District 21
Delegate Jill P. Carter, District 41
Delegate Luke Clippinger, District 46
Delegate John W. E. Cluster, Jr., District 8
Delegate Frank M. Conaway, Jr., District 40
Delegate Kathleen M. Dumais, District 15
Delegate Don H. Dwyer, Jr., District 31
Delegate Adelaide C. Eckardt, District 37B
Delegate William J. Frank, District 42
Delegate C. William Frick, District 16
Delegate Ron George, District 30
Delegate Jeannie Haddaway-Riccio, District 37B
Delegate Sheila E. Hixson, District 20
Delegate Michael J. Hough, District 3B
Delegate Carolyn J. B. Howard, District 24
Delegate Tom Hucker, District 20
Delegate Jolene Ivey, District 47
Delegate Wade Kach, District 5B
Delegate Anne R. Kaiser, District 14
Delegate Ariana B. Kelly, District 16
Delegate Kevin Kelly, District 1B
Delegate Susan W. Krebs, District 9B
Delegate Susan C. Lee, District 16
Delegate Eric G. Luedtke, District 14
Delegate Susan K. McComas, District 35B
Delegate Michael A. McDermott, District 38B
Delegate Herb McMillan, District 30
Delegate Warren E. Miller, District 9A
Delegate Aruna Miller, District 15
Delegate Keiffer J. Mitchell, Jr., District 44
Delegate Heather R. Mizeur, District 20
Delegate Doyle L. Niemann, District 47
Delegate Nathaniel T. Oaks, District 41
Delegate Neil Parrott, District 2B
Delegate Justin Ready, District 5A
Delegate Kirill Reznik, District 39
Delegate Samuel I. Rosenberg, District 41
Delegate Luiz R. S. Simmons, District 17
Delegate Michael D. Smigiel, Sr., District 36
Delegate Theodore Sophocleus, District 32
Delegate Dana Stein, District 11
Delegate Nancy R. Stocksdale, District 5A
Delegate Michael G. Summers, District 47
Delegate Kriselda Valderrama, District 26
Delegate Geraldine Valentino-Smith, District 23A
Delegate Michael L. Vaughn, District 24
Delegate Jeff Waldstreicher, District 18
Delegate C. T. Wilson, District 28

Bill indexed under the following Subjects:

Chemical Tests
Crimes and Punishments -see also- Penalties and Sentnc; etc.
Drivers' Licenses
Drunk and Drugged Driving
Fees -see also- Attys' Fees; Devt Fees & Taxes; Reimb Rates.
Motor Vehicle Administration
Motor Vehicle Equipment
Penalties and Sentences -see also- Death Penalty
Work, Labor and Employment -see also- Col Barg; Holiday; etc

Bill affects the following Statutes:

( 16-113 , 16-113 , 16-113 , 16-205 , 16-205.1 , 16-205.1 , 16-205.1 , 16-205.1 , 16-205.1 , 16-205.1 , 16-404 , 16-404 , 16-404.1 , 21-902 , 21-902 , 21-902 , 27-101 , 27-107 , 27-107 )


All documents except Roll Call Votes are displayed in PDF format:
Bill Text: First Reading, Third Reading, Enrolled, Chapter
Fiscal and Policy Note: Available
Attorney General Letter: Available
Number: 302216/01     Offered on: March 23, 2011   at: 10:31 a.m.     Status: Adopted
Number: 672419/01     Offered on: March 23, 2011   at: 10:33 a.m.     Status: Adopted
Number: 238278/01     Offered on: April 7, 2011   at: 1:18 p.m.     Status: Adopted
Number: 408473/01     Offered on: April 7, 2011   at: 1:21 p.m.     Status: Adopted
Number: 503927/01     Offered on: April 8, 2011   at: 1:28 p.m.     Status: Adopted
Committee Votes :
Judicial Proceedings
Roll Call Votes (Legislative dates are shown):
March 22, 2011: Third Reading Passed (118-17)
April 5, 2011: Third Reading Passed (132-5)
April 4, 2011: Third Reading Passed (47-0)
Click to return on the top page