COUNTY COMMISSIONERS OF WORCESTER COUNTY, MARYLAND

BILL 22-10

BY: Commissioners Bertino, Church, Elder, Nordstrom, and Purnell

INTRODUCED: May 17th, 2022

A BILL ENTITLED

AN ACT Concerning

Zoning - Campgrounds

For the purpose of amending the Zoning and Subdivision Control Article to allow a portion of a rental or membership campground to be developed using cluster design standards that will provide flexibility in a campground's design.

Section 1. BE IT ENACTED BY THE COUNTY COMMISSIONERS OF WORCESTER COUNTY, MARYLAND, that subsections §§ ZS 1-318(c)(4) through (11) of the Zoning and Subdivision Control Article of the Code of Public Local Laws of Worcester County, Maryland be renumbered as §§ ZS 1-318(c)(5) through (12) respectively and that a new subsection § ZS 1-318(c)(4) be added to the Zoning and Subdivision Control Article of the Code of Public Local Laws of Worcester County, Maryland to read as follows:

- (4) Cluster Design standards. Individual campsites to be occupied solely by recreational park trailers or cabins may be designed to a cluster design standard as set forth herein.
 - A. For individual recreational park trailer or cabin structures, there shall be no minimum campsite area, setback, width, depth or road frontage requirement. Such standards shall be as approved by the Planning Commission on a site plan prepared in accordance with § ZS 1-325 hereof. No structure shall be erected within ten feet of any other structure. The maximum density shall be ten campsites per gross acre of the area devoted to the cluster design.
 - B. Notwithstanding the provisions of § ZS 1-318(c)(1)D, any required off-street parking provided in common parking areas within the area devoted to the cluster design may be located greater than six hundred feet from the campsite if approved by the Planning Commission. However, required accessible parking shall be located on the campsite for each accessible unit provided as specified in the Maryland Building Code for the Handicapped and the Uniform Federal Accessibility Standards, as from time to time amended.
 - C. Planning Commission criteria. The Planning Commission shall consider each of the following criteria in its review of the Cluster Design:
 - (1) Safe, recognizable and stabilized access for fire protection and other public safety equipment is maintained to all campsites.
 - (2) The proposed cluster design will consist of structures of a compact, integrated and harmonious design, intended to maximize open space and reduce impervious surfaces, while blending the natural and man-made environments.

- (3) The cluster design has been provided with adequate vehicular circulation, parking, and service areas. Sidewalks and trails for pedestrian and bicycle circulation within the development are preferred.
- (4) The development plan protects and avoids key environmental features that have been identified on the site plan. Special consideration shall be given to wetlands, forested areas, existing significant trees, floodplains, source water and aquifer recharge protection areas, areas of critical habitat, water bodies on the state's impaired waters lists or having an established total maximum daily load requirement and other important environmental features. Where possible, those areas contained in the 100-year floodplain should be provided as open space or recreational areas.
- (5) The proposed cluster design complies with all other requirements not specifically modified by this subsection.

Section 2. BE IT FURTHER ENACTED BY THE COUNTY COMMISSIONERS OF WORCESTER COUNTY, MARYLAND, that this Bill shall take effect forty-five (45) days from the date of its passage.

| PASSED this | 2154 | day of | June | , 2022. |
|-------------|------|--------|------|---------|
| | | | | |

ATTEST:

WORCESTER COUNTY, MARYLAND

COUNTY COMMISSIONERS OF

Weston S. Young

Chief Administrative Officer

Joseph M. Mitrecic, President

Theodore J. Elder, Vice President

Anthony W. Bertino, Jr., Commissioner

Madison J. Bunting, Jr., Commissioner

ABSENT

James C. Church, Commissioner

Joshua C. Nordstrom, Commissioner

ABSENT

Diana Purnell, Commissioner