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Proposed Regulation

Maryland Higher Education Commission
(DLS Control No. 22-271)

Overview and Legal and Fiscal Impact

The regulation establishes a deadline for a religious institution that is denied an exemption
to operate without a certificate of approval from the Maryland Higher Education Commission to
request a hearing before the Commission.

The regulation presents no legal issues of concern.

There is no fiscal impact on State or local agencies.

Regulation of COMAR Affected

Maryland Higher Education Commission:
Academic Regulations: Exemption Procedures for Religious Educational Institutions and
Religious Institutions: COMAR 13B.02.04.05

Legal Analysis

Background

Under § 11-202.1 of the Education Article a private nonprofit institution of higher
education operating under a charter granted by the General Assembly may operate without a
certificate of approval from the commission. A religious educational institution may operate
without a certificate of approval from the commission if the institution meets certain requirements,
including submitting to the commission an exemption renewal application every two years.
Section 11-202.1(d) of the Education Article requires the commission to adopt regulations
establishing procedures and standards for the submission and evaluation of an application for
exemption, renewal applications, and reports and financial statements submitted by religious
educational institutions. The current regulation allows an institution denied an exemption to
request a hearing before the commission without imposing a deadline.
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Summary of Regulation

The regulation establishes a deadline for a religious institution that is denied an exemption
to operate without a certificate of approval from the commission to request a hearing before the
commission no later than 20 days after receipt of written notification of the denial.

Legal Issues

The regulation presents no legal issues of concern.

Statutory Authority and Legislative Intent

The commission cites 8§ 11-105(0) and (u), 11-201, and 11-202.1 of the Education
Article as statutory authority for the regulation.

Section 11-105(u) authorizes the commission to require an application or renewal fee from
an institution of postsecondary education seeking certification, an exemption from certification, or
approval of certain academic program actions. Section 11-202.1 sets forth the circumstances under
which a private nonprofit institution of higher education, including certain religious education
institutions, may operate without a certificate of approval from the commission. The section
requires the commission to adopt regulations establishing procedures and standards for the
submission and evaluation of an application for exemption, renewal applications, and reports and
financial statements submitted by religious educational institutions.

The remaining cited authority is not relevant to this regulation.

The relevant cited authority is correct and complete. The regulation complies with the
legislative intent of the law.

\
Fiscal Analysis

There is no fiscal impact on State or local agencies.

Agency Estimate of Projected Fiscal Impact

Religious educational institutions may operate in Maryland without a certificate of
approval from the commission. To do so, an institution must: (1) meet specified qualifications;
(2) apply for an exemption; and (3) pay $250. Exemptions are valid for two years. An institution
denied an exemption may request a hearing before the commission. The regulation sets a 20-day
limit for a religious educational institution to request a hearing, which aligns with other appeal
procedures for commission actions, including denial of approval to operate both private career
schools and degree-granting institutions.
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The commission advises that the regulation has no impact on State or local governments.
The Department of Legislative Services concurs, as the regulation is generally administrative and
is not anticipated to materially impact the number of hearings requested or the processing fees

collected.

Impact on Budget

There is no impact on the State operating or capital budget.

Agency Estimate of Projected Small Business Impact

The commission advises that the regulation has minimal or no economic impact on small
businesses in the State. The Department of Legislative Services concurs as the regulation is not

anticipated to materially impact the number of hearings requested by religious educational
institutions or any processing fees.

Contact Information

Legal Analysis: Jeremy D. Baker — (410) 946/(301) 970-5350
Fiscal Analysis: Caroline L. Boice — (410) 946/(301) 970-5510
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