1999 Regular Session


CHAPTER NUMBER: 635 File Code: Miscellaneous
Sponsored By:
Delegates Finifter, Zirkin, Morhaim, Bartlett, Phillips, Linton, Carlson, Conroy, Cryor, C. Davis, Greenip, Healey, Howard, Hurson, Marriott, McKee, Patterson, Ports, Rosso, Rzepkowski, Mandel, Taylor, Bronrott, Burns, DeCarlo, Dembrow, Dewberry, Donoghue, Dypski, Fulton, Giannetti, Goldwater, Heller, A. Jones, J. Kelly, K. Kelly, Klima, Kopp, La Vay, Leopold, Love, Menes, Mitchell, Mohorovic, Montague, D. Murphy, Nathan-Pulliam, Palumbo, Pendergrass, Petzold, Rawlings, Redmer, Riley, Shank, Slade, Swain, Baldwin, Brinkley, Benson, Branch, Hill, Kach, Oaks, Snodgrass, Stull, Valderrama, Walkup, Wood, Boutin, Glassman, Klausmeier, Stocksdale, Elliott, Eckardt, O'Donnell, Parrott, Hubbard, James, and Pitkin
Inheritance Tax Rate


Altering the inheritance tax rate for property that passes from a decedent to or for the use of certain beneficiaries; altering a provision regarding certain funding of certain expenses of the registers of wills under certain circumstances; and applying the Act to all decedents dying or after July 1, 1999.

History by Legislative Date

House Action
First Reading Ways and Means
Hearing 2/18 at 11:00 a.m.

Favorable with Amendments Report by Ways and Means
Favorable with Amendments Report Adopted
Second Reading Passed with Amendments
Third Reading Passed (139-0)
House Concur - Senate Amendments
Third Reading Passed (130-2)
Passed Enrolled
Signed by the Governor Chapter 635
Senate Action
First Reading Budget and Taxation
Hearing 3/31 at 1:30 p.m.
Favorable with Amendments Report by Budget and Taxation
Favorable with Amendments Report Adopted
Second Reading Passed with Amendments
Motion 2rdgs same day Const/Rule 24 (Senator Munson) Adopted
Third Reading Passed with Amendments (46-0)
Sponsored by:
Delegate Michael J. Finifter, District 11
Delegate Robert C. Baldwin, District 33
Delegate Joseph R. Bartlett, District 3
Delegate Joanne C. Benson, District 24
Delegate Charles R. Boutin, District 34
Delegate Talmadge Branch, District 45
Delegate David R. Brinkley, District 4A
Delegate William A. Bronrott, District 16
Delegate Emmett C. Burns, Jr., District 10
Delegate Paul Carlson, District 39
Delegate Mary A. Conroy, District 23
Delegate Jean B. Cryor, District 15
Delegate Clarence Davis, District 45
Delegate Diane DeCarlo, District 6
Delegate Dana Lee Dembrow, District 20
Delegate Thomas E. Dewberry, District 47B
Delegate John P. Donoghue, District 2C
Delegate Cornell N. Dypski, District 46
Delegate Adelaide C. Eckardt, District 37B
Delegate Donald B. Elliott, District 4B
Delegate Tony Edward Fulton, District 40
Delegate John A. Giannetti, Jr., District 13B
Delegate Barry Glassman, District 35A
Delegate Marilyn R. Goldwater, District 16
Delegate Janet Greenip, District 33
Delegate Anne Healey, District 22A
Delegate Henry B. Heller, District 19
Delegate Kerry Hill, District 26
Delegate Carolyn J. B. Howard, District 24
Delegate James W. Hubbard, District 23
Delegate John Adams Hurson, District 18
Delegate Mary-Dulany James, District 34
Delegate Adrienne A. Jones, District 10
Delegate A. Wade Kach, District 9A
Delegate James M. Kelly, District 9B
Delegate Kevin Kelly, District 1B
Delegate Katherine Klausmeier, District 8
Delegate Martha S. Klima, District 9A
Delegate Nancy K. Kopp, District 16
Delegate Richard La Vay, District 15
Delegate John R. Leopold, District 31
Delegate Samuel C. Linton, District 28
Delegate Mary Ann E. Love, District 32
Delegate Adrienne A. Mandel, District 19
Delegate Salima Siler Marriott, District 40
Delegate Robert A. McKee, District 2A
Delegate Pauline H. Menes, District 21
Delegate Van T. Mitchell, District 28
Delegate Jacob J. Mohorovic, Jr., District 7
Delegate Kenneth C. Montague, Jr., District 43
Delegate Dan K. Morhaim, District 11
Delegate Donald E. Murphy, District 12A
Delegate Shirley Nathan-Pulliam, District 10
Delegate Nathaniel T. Oaks, District 41
Delegate Anthony J. O'Donnell, District 29C
Delegate Richard A. Palumbo, District 22A
Delegate Joanne S. Parrott, District 35A
Delegate Obie Patterson, District 26
Delegate Shane E. Pendergrass, District 13A
Delegate Carol Stoker Petzold, District 19
Delegate Wendell F. Phillips, District 41
Delegate Joan B. Pitkin, District 23
Delegate James F. Ports, Jr., District 8
Delegate Howard P. Rawlings, District 40
Delegate Alfred W. Redmer, Jr., District 8
Delegate B. Daniel Riley, District 34
Delegate Mary Rosso, District 31
Delegate James E. Rzepkowski, District 32
Delegate Christopher B. Shank, District 2B
Delegate John F. Slade, III, District 29B
Delegate Louise V. Snodgrass, District 3
Delegate Nancy Reter Stocksdale, District 5
Delegate Paul S. Stull, District 4A
Delegate Darren M. Swain, District 24
Delegate Casper R. Taylor, Jr., District 1C
Delegate David M. Valderrama, District 26
Delegate Mary Roe Walkup, District 36
Delegate John F. Wood, Jr., District 29A
Delegate Robert A. Zirkin, District 11
Bill indexed under the following Subjects:
Bill affects the following Statutes:
Estates and Trusts
( 2-205 )
Tax - General
( 7-204 )


Bill Text: First Reading (PDF), Third Reading (PDF), Enrolled (PDF)
Fiscal Note: Available (PDF)
Number: 695650/1 (PDF)     Offered on: March 22, 1999   at: 6:22 p.m.     Status: Adopted
Number: 669323/1 (PDF)     Offered on: April 12, 1999   at: 8:45 p.m.     Status: Adopted
Roll Call Votes (Legislative dates are shown):
March 24, 1999: Third Reading Passed (139-0)
April 11, 1999: Third Reading Passed (130-2)
April 10, 1999: Third Reading Passed (46-0)