Bill number does not exist. Enter a vaild keyword.


Delegate Theodore Sophocleus

Anne Arundel
Committee Assignment(s)
Annapolis Info
162 House Office Building
6 Bladen Street
Annapolis, MD 21401
Phone 410-841-3372 | 301-858-3372
Toll-free in MD
Interim Info
162 House Office Building
6 Bladen Street
Annapolis, MD 21401
Phone 410-841-3372 | 301-858-3372
First elected to the Maryland House of Delegates, 1998. Member of the House since 1999. First appointed to the House June 25, 1993. Member of the House, 1993-1995.
Current Assignments
2007- Appropriations Committee
2007- Oversight Committee on Personnel of the Appropriations Committee
Past House Service
Public Safety and Administration Subcommittee of the Appropriations Committee, 2007-2013; Deputy Majority Whip, 2003-2006; Judiciary Committee, 2003-2006; Chair, Family Law Subcommittee of the Judiciary Committee, 2003-2006; Commerce and Government Matters Committee, 1999-2003, 1994-1995; Financial Institutions Subcommittee of the Commerce and Government Matters Committee, 1999-2003; State Government and Procurement Subcommittee of the Commerce and Government Matters Committee, 1999-2003; Ways and Means Committee, 1993.
Public Service
Advisory Committee on the Naming of State Facilities, Roads, and Bridges, 2006; Baltimore/Washington International (BWI) Airport Governance Study Group, 2005; Chair, Capital Projects Subcommittee, and Legislative Network/United Black Caucus, Anne Arundel County Delegation, 2005; Task Force to Evaluate the Development and Construction of a Magnetic Levitation Transportation System (MAGLEV) in Maryland between Baltimore and the District of Columbia, 2002-2003; Task Force on Indoor Air Quality, 2001-2002; County Council, Anne Arundel County, District 1, 1983-1990; Citizens Advisory Board for Henryton Center; Patapsco Area Advisory Commission; Park Advisory Commission; Solid Waste Commission; Hypertension Commission; Drug and Alcohol Advisory Board, Anne Arundel County; Past Member, Henryton Sub-Area Health Committee.
Doctors Caucus, 2010-; Maryland Veterans Caucus, 2005-; Maryland Bicycle and Pedestrian Caucus, 2003-; Maryland Taxpayers Protection Caucus, 2003-; Maryland Legislative Sportsmen's Caucus, 2001-; Board of Directors, Linthicum Shipley Improvement Association, 1995-1997; Sheltered Workshop for the Handicapped, 1982-1990; Community Action Agency, 1982-1990; Overlook Elementary PTA, 1980-1983, 1970-1977; District 32 Democratic Club, 1982-; Roland Terrace Democratic Club, 1982-; Linthicum Shipley Improvement Association, 1980-; Board of Directors, Crestwood Improvement Association, 1970-1973; President and Director, Anne Arundel Optimist Club, 1968-1970; American and Maryland Pharmaceutical Associations, 1962-; Stoney Creek Democratic Club; West County Democratic Club; Former President and Co-Founder, Anne Arundel County Hall of Fame; Former Chair, Hilltop CAC; Former Board Member, Chrysalis House.
Legislative Award, The Arc of Maryland , 2009; Legislator of the Year, Young Women's Christian Association (YWCA) , 2005; Legislator of the Year, Maryland Network Against Domestic Violence , 2005; Legislator of the Year, Maryland State's Attorneys' Association , 2004; Alumni Hall of Fame, Patterson Park High School .
Biographical Information
Born, Baltimore, Maryland, May 28, 1939 ; Patterson Park High School ; University of Maryland School of Pharmacy (5 year program), B.S., 1962 ; Registered Pharmacist ; Patent Clerk, Pharmacist, Manager, and Director of Management, Development, and Professional Services, Read's Drug Stores, 1960-77 ; President, Discount Pharmacy, Corpus Christi, Texas, 1977-80 ; Owner/Operator, Ted's Pharmacy, 1980-90 ; Administrative Officer, State's Attorney's Office, Anne Arundel County, 1994- ; Married, Three children, Five grandchildren .
Last Updated: 10/15/2019 3:26 PM