About Schedules

The weekly schedule is issued anew each Thursday and includes the dates, times, locations, and topics for meetings being held by committees of the General Assembly and other state government groups. Addenda to the weekly schedule are published as necessary.

Meetings are generally held in late morning or early afternoon.

During the legislative session standing committee meetings include:

  • Public hearings on all assigned legislation. Withdrawn legislation does not always receive a hearing.
  • Briefings on subject matters as determined by the chair from agencies and selected organizations.
  • Receiving testimony from sponsors and other parties supporting or opposing legislation
  • Reviewing the Governor’s nominees to cabinet positions, certain Judgeships, and various boards and commissions (Senate Executive Nominations Committee only)
  • Hearing agency representatives discuss the budgets of specific units of State government (Budget Committees only)
  • Receiving proposed amendments
  • Voting to approve or reject legislation

Between sessions, scheduled meetings continue the work of General Assembly committees and its task forces, commissions, and special issue workgroups.

Certain committees webcast their meetings live and recordings can be listened to or viewed on demand after the meeting has concluded. Prior schedules and addenda are available online and in printed format.

january 29, 2018


                                 5:00 p.m.

   Subject: The following nominees are scheduled to appear for

       District Court, Carroll County (District 10)
          Erin M. Danz, Esq., Carroll County, District 5

       District Court, Montgomery County (District 6)
          Carlos F. Acosta, Esq., Montgomery County, District 20
          Amy J. Bills, Esq., Montgomery County, District 16
          Karen A. Ferretti, Montgomery County, District 15
          Aileen E. Oliver, Esq., Montgomery County, District 20

       District Court, Prince George's County (District 5)
          Scott M. Carrington, Prince George's County, District 23
          Cheri Simpkins Gardner, Prince George's County, District 23
          Erik H. Nyce, Prince George's County, District 22

       Special Appeals, Court of
          Matthew J. Fader, Howard County, District 12

       Health and Mental Hygiene, Department of
          Robert R. Neall, Anne Arundel County, District 33

       African American History and Culture, Commission on
          Iris A. Barnes, Harford County, District 34
          Maya D. Davis, Prince George's County, District 26
          Malcolm L. Funn, Esq., Calvert County, District 27
          Janice Curtis Greene, Baltimore County, District 10
          Elinor L. Thompson, Anne Arundel County, District 30
          Reggie J. Turner, Washington County, District 2

       Arts Council, Maryland State
          Everlena Zoe Charlton, Baltimore City, District 41

       Aviation Commission, Maryland
          Vishal Amin, Montgomery County, District 16
          William Drew Hawkins, Anne Arundel County, District 31

   Subject: The following nominees are not required to appear for

       African American History and Culture, Commission on
          H. Russell Frisby, Jr., Esq., Howard County, District 12
          Edwin T. Johnson, Ph.D., Baltimore City, District 43

       Arts Council, Maryland State
          Julia Spangler Madden, Howard County, District 13
          John A. Rasmussen, Ph.D., Montgomery County, District 16
          Gary K. Vikan, Ph.D., Baltimore City, District 43

       Blind Industries and Services of Maryland, Board of Trustees
          Norman H. Conway, Wicomico County, District 37
Further Details

January 30, 2018 2:44 P.M.