Bill number does not exist. Enter a vaild keyword.

Statutes Text

Article - Human Services


    (a)    The Commission consists of:

        (1)    the following members, appointed by the Governor:

            (i)    one individual with a physical disability;

            (ii)    one individual who has experienced mental illness;

            (iii)    two individuals with a developmental disability, including one with an intellectual disability;

            (iv)    one individual who is blind;

            (v)    one individual who is deaf or hard of hearing;

            (vi)    one parent or foster parent of a child with a disability;

            (vii)    four members of the general public who have disabilities;

            (viii)    three representatives from statewide disability advocacy organizations;

            (ix)    one representative from the home health care industry;

            (x)    one representative from a statewide organization of providers of services and support for individuals with disabilities;

            (xi)    one representative from the Alliance of Local Commissions on Disability; and

            (xii)    two representatives from the Board, one of whom shall be selected by the Secretary and one of whom shall be the Secretary of Budget and Management or the designee of the Secretary of Budget and Management;

        (2)    one representative from the Senate of Maryland, appointed by the President of the Senate;

        (3)    one representative from the Maryland House of Delegates, appointed by the Speaker of the House;

        (4)    the State Coordinator for Autism Strategy; and

        (5)    one representative from the Governor’s Advisory Board for Telecommunications Relay, appointed by the chair of the Board.

    (b)    In making the appointments required under subsection (a)(1) of this section, the Governor shall appoint members from among:

        (1)    the geographic regions of the State; and

        (2)    diverse backgrounds.

    (c)    A majority of the members shall be individuals with disabilities.

    (d)    (1)    The term of a member is 3 years.

        (2)    The terms of the members are staggered as required by the terms provided for the members of the Commission on October 1, 2007.

        (3)    At the end of a term, a member continues to serve until a successor is appointed and qualifies.

        (4)    A member who is appointed after a term has begun serves only for the rest of the term and until a successor is appointed and qualifies.

        (5)    A member may not serve more than two consecutive 3–year terms.

    (e)    A member who fails to attend at least 50% of the regularly scheduled meetings of the Commission during any 12–month period shall be considered to have resigned.