Senator Roger Manno

2019 Regular Session

District 19, Montgomery County

Senator Roger Manno
Annapolis Address:102 James Senate Office Building
11 Bladen Street
Annapolis, MD 21401

Phone: 410-841-3151 | 301-858-3151 | Toll-free in MD: 1-800-492-7122 ext. 3151
Fax: 301-858-3740
Interim Address:102 James Senate Office Building
11 Bladen Street
Annapolis, MD 21401

Phone: 410-841-3151 | 301-858-3151
Fax: 301-858-3740
Contact:Contact Online or send email to:
Tenure:First elected to the Senate in 2010. Member of the Senate since 2011.
Current Assignments:2016- Majority Whip
2017- Legislative Policy Committee
2011- Budget and Taxation Committee
2013- Pensions Subcommittee of the Budget and Taxation Committee
2011- Health and Human Services Subcommittee of the Budget and Taxation Committee
2014- Senate Chair, Spending Affordability Committee
2015- Senate Chair, Administrative, Executive and Legislative Review (AELR) Committee
2013- Joint Committee on Pensions
2011- Joint Committee on Federal Relations
2014- Vice-Chair, Montgomery County Delegation
Party Affiliation:Democrat

December 3, 2018 1:00 P.M.
Past Senate Service
2011-2014Joint Committee on Health Care Delivery and Financing
Past House Service 2007-2011
2007-2011Economic Matters Committee
2007-2011Business Regulation Subcommittee of the Economic Matters Committee
2007-2011Property and Casualty Insurance Subcommittee of the Economic Matters Committee
2007-2011Consumer Protection and Commercial Law Subcommittee of the Economic Matters Committee
Public Service
2017-Task Force to Study Bicycle Safety on Maryland Highways
2016-Virginia I. Jones Alzheimer's Disease and Related Disorders Council
2016-Council of State Governments, Eastern Regional Conference, Health Policy Committee
2013Maryland Pesticide Reporting and Information Workgroup (Senate Chair)
2011Senate Co-Chair, Task Force to Study Financial Matters Relating to Long-Term Care Facilities
2011-2016Co-Chair, Maryland Youth Advisory Council
2007-2011Vice Chair, County Affairs Committee, Montgomery County Delegation
2009White House Task Force of State Legislators for Health Reform
2009National Steering Committee, Leadership Conference on Guaranteed Health Care
2009-2015State Advisory Council on Hereditary and Congenital Disorders
2009Original Signatory, State Legislators for Single-Payer (HR 676)
2007-2008Task Force to Implement Holocaust, Genocide, Human Rights and Tolerance Education
2007-2008Blue Ribbon Task Force on Gun Violence (convened by U.S. Representative Albert R. Wynn)
2005-2006Criminal Justice Coordinating Commission, Montgomery County
2003-2006Area Coordinator, Montgomery County Democratic Central Committee
2011-2013Board of Directors, Montgomery Hospice
2012Honorary Member, International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers (IBEW Local 26, AFL-CIO)
2008-Board of Directors, B'nai B'rith Chesapeake Bay Region
2005-2008President, B'nai B'rith Capital Region Council
2007-Maryland BioTech Caucus
2007-Maryland Educators Caucus
2007-Maryland Veterans Caucus
2007Board of Directors, Reaching Out to Others Together (ROOT)
2005-2007Community Service Chair, Congressional Jewish Staff Association
2002-2007Board of Directors, District 19 Democratic Club
2005-2006Board of Directors, Committee for Montgomery
2002-2005Board Member, Democratic Policy Network
Board of Directors, AGWG (Allanwood, Gayfields, Willson Hills, Gaywood Estates) Civic Association
Former Director and Vice President, Kemp Mill Civic Association
Maryland Bar
District of Columbia Bar
2018Honorary Member, United Association of Journeymen and Apprentices of the Plumbing and Pipe Fitting Industry, Local 602
2017Recognition Award, The Maryland Fraternal Order of Police
2017Recognition Award, The Metropolitan Washington Employment Lawyers Association
2016Certificate of Appreciation, U.S. Department of Defense
2015IAFF Local 1664, Legislative Achievement Award
2014Legislator of the Year, Maryland Society of Anesthesiologists
2014Distinguished Legislative Service Award, National Federation of the Blind of Maryland
2013Shofar Award, Melvin J. Berman Hebrew Academy
2013Award for Excellence, Plumbers and Gasfitters UA Local #5
2012Adrian Theophilus Westney Religious Freedom Award, Columbia Union Conference
2012Legislator of the Year, Washington, D.C. Building and Construction Trades Council (AFL-CIO)
2010Certificate of Appreciation, Maryland United for Peace and Justice
2010Consumer Rights Hall of Fame, Maryland Consumer Rights Coalition
2008Legislator of the Year, Washington, DC, Building and Construction Trades Council (AFL-CIO)
2008Champion of Working Families, Progressive Maryland Education Fund
2005Civic Leadership Award, Kemp Miller Civic Association
Biographical Information
Born April 26, 1966
Hunter College, B.A., Political Science, magna cum laude (Member, College Senate)
Franklin Pierce Law Center, M.I.P., J.D., Intellectual Property Law
Legal Extern, U.S. Representative Jerrold Nadler of New York, 2001
Senior Counsel to U.S. Representative Sheila Jackson Lee of Texas, 2001-02
Staff/Organizer, Congressional Black Caucus Annual Legislative Conference, 2001-06
Legislative Director to U.S. Representative Sanford D. Bishop, Jr. of Georgia, 2002-07
Staff, U.S. House of Representatives Homeland Security Task Force, 2001-06
Former Intern, The White House, Clinton Administration
Former Of Counsel, Karp, Frosh, Lapidus, Wigodsky & Norwind, P.A.
Former Classroom Para-Educator
Temple Emanuel, Kensington

December 3, 2018 1:00 P.M.