About Statutes

This page accesses the Code of Maryland (Statutes) and the Maryland Municipal Charters and Resolutions as compiled and maintained by the Department of Legislative Services.

The Code is arranged by and organized into “Articles” (e.g. Transportation Article), which are further subdivided into “titles”, “subtitles”, “sections”, “subsections”, “paragraphs”, subparagraphs”, etc.

Note that the “official” compilation of the laws (Chapters) enacted at each session of the General Assembly is published by the State as the “Laws of Maryland”, commonly referred to as the “Session Laws”. The Session Laws for each session are compiled chronologically by chapter number and serve as the source law from which the statutes accessed here are derived.

While the “Laws of Maryland” (Session Laws) constitute the official laws of the State, this Code and the annotated versions noted below are accepted as “evidence” of the law in all State courts and by all public offices and officials (See § 10-201 of the Courts & Judicial Proceedings Article). However, in the event of a conflict between the Code and the Session Laws, the Session Laws prevail.

Note: Annotated versions of the Code, published by LexisNexis and West, are available in book and online formats. These Annotated Codes include references to case law, related citations, and explanatory notations.

The Municipal Charters are updated each year by incorporating all charter resolutions received by the Department through May 31 of that year. Individual Municipal Resolutions are published to the General Assembly website as they are received by the Department.



Statute Text

ati318554.tmp
Article - Business Occupations and Professions
§17–305.  
(a)   To qualify for a real estate broker license, an applicant shall be an individual who meets the requirements of this section.
(b)   An applicant shall be of good character and reputation.
(c)   An applicant shall be at least 18 years old.
(d)    (1)   Except as provided in paragraph (2) of this subsection, an applicant shall:
(i)   have completed successfully a course in real estate approved by the Commission for real estate brokers that includes a 3 clock hour course in real estate ethics approved by the Commission; and
(ii)   have been a licensed real estate salesperson and have actively and lawfully provided real estate brokerage services for at least 3 years.
(2)   If an applicant is qualified to practice law in the State, the Commission shall waive the educational and experience requirements of paragraph (1) of this subsection for that applicant.
(e)   An applicant shall pass an examination given by the Commission under § 17-306 of this subtitle.
(f)   An applicant shall meet any other requirement that the Commission establishes to ensure that only individuals who are professionally competent and of good character and reputation are licensed.