About Statutes

This page accesses the Code of Maryland (Statutes) and the Maryland Municipal Charters and Resolutions as compiled and maintained by the Department of Legislative Services.

The Code is arranged by and organized into “Articles” (e.g. Transportation Article), which are further subdivided into “titles”, “subtitles”, “sections”, “subsections”, “paragraphs”, subparagraphs”, etc.

Note that the “official” compilation of the laws (Chapters) enacted at each session of the General Assembly is published by the State as the “Laws of Maryland”, commonly referred to as the “Session Laws”. The Session Laws for each session are compiled chronologically by chapter number and serve as the source law from which the statutes accessed here are derived.

While the “Laws of Maryland” (Session Laws) constitute the official laws of the State, this Code and the annotated versions noted below are accepted as “evidence” of the law in all State courts and by all public offices and officials (See § 10-201 of the Courts & Judicial Proceedings Article). However, in the event of a conflict between the Code and the Session Laws, the Session Laws prevail.

Note: Annotated versions of the Code, published by LexisNexis and West, are available in book and online formats. These Annotated Codes include references to case law, related citations, and explanatory notations.

The Municipal Charters are updated each year by incorporating all charter resolutions received by the Department through May 31 of that year. Individual Municipal Resolutions are published to the General Assembly website as they are received by the Department.



Statute Text

ati320158.tmp
Article - Business Occupations and Professions
§17–613.  
(a)   Subject to the provisions of subsection (d) of this section, a person who violates any provision of the following sections of this title is guilty of a misdemeanor and on conviction for a first offense is subject to a fine not exceeding $5,000 or imprisonment not exceeding 1 year or both:
(1)   § 17–502;
(2)   § 17–525;
(3)   § 17–526;
(4)   § 17–527;
(5)   § 17–530;
(6)   § 17–532;
(7)   § 17–601;
(8)   § 17–602;
(9)   § 17–603;
(10)   § 17–604;
(11)   § 17–605;
(12)   § 17–606;
(13)   § 17–607;
(14)   § 17–608;
(15)   § 17–609;
(16)   § 17–610; and
(17)   § 17–611.
(b)   A corporation, partnership, or other association that violates § 17–612 of this subtitle is guilty of a misdemeanor and on conviction is subject to a fine:
(1)   not exceeding $5,000 for a first violation;
(2)   not exceeding $15,000 for a second violation; and
(3)   not exceeding $25,000 for a third or subsequent violation.
(c)    (1)   The Commission may impose on a person who violates any provision of this title a penalty not exceeding:
(i)   $5,000 for a first violation;
(ii)   $15,000 for a second violation; and
(iii)   $25,000 for a third or subsequent violation.
(2)   In setting the amount of the penalty, the Board shall consider:
(i)   the seriousness of the violation;
(ii)   the harm caused by the violation;
(iii)   the good faith of the violator;
(iv)   any history of previous violations by the violator; and
(v)   any other relevant factors.
(3)   The Board shall pay any penalty collected under this subsection into the General Fund of the State.
(d)    (1)   Any person found guilty of a second violation of any provision of the sections listed in subsection (a) of this section is subject to a fine not exceeding $15,000 or 2 years imprisonment or both.
(2)   Any person found guilty of a third or subsequent violation of any provision of the sections listed in subsection (a) of this section is subject to a fine not exceeding $25,000 or 3 years imprisonment or both.