About Statutes

This page accesses the Code of Maryland (Statutes) and the Maryland Municipal Charters and Resolutions as compiled and maintained by the Department of Legislative Services.

The Code is arranged by and organized into “Articles” (e.g. Transportation Article), which are further subdivided into “titles”, “subtitles”, “sections”, “subsections”, “paragraphs”, subparagraphs”, etc.

Note that the “official” compilation of the laws (Chapters) enacted at each session of the General Assembly is published by the State as the “Laws of Maryland”, commonly referred to as the “Session Laws”. The Session Laws for each session are compiled chronologically by chapter number and serve as the source law from which the statutes accessed here are derived.

While the “Laws of Maryland” (Session Laws) constitute the official laws of the State, this Code and the annotated versions noted below are accepted as “evidence” of the law in all State courts and by all public offices and officials (See § 10-201 of the Courts & Judicial Proceedings Article). However, in the event of a conflict between the Code and the Session Laws, the Session Laws prevail.

Note: Annotated versions of the Code, published by LexisNexis and West, are available in book and online formats. These Annotated Codes include references to case law, related citations, and explanatory notations.

The Municipal Charters are updated each year by incorporating all charter resolutions received by the Department through May 31 of that year. Individual Municipal Resolutions are published to the General Assembly website as they are received by the Department.



Statute Text

ati342430.tmp
Article - Criminal Procedure
§10–108.  
(a)   A person may not open or review an expunged record or disclose to another person any information from that record without a court order from:
(1)   the court that ordered the record expunged; or
(2)   the District Court that has venue in the case of a police record expunged under § 10-103 of this subtitle.
(b)   A court may order the opening or review of an expunged record or the disclosure of information from that record:
(1)   after notice to the person whom the record concerns, a hearing, and the showing of good cause; or
(2)   on an ex parte order, as provided in subsection (c) of this section.
(c)    (1)   The court may pass an ex parte order allowing access to an expunged record, without notice to the person who is the subject of that record, on a verified petition filed by a State’s Attorney alleging that:
(i)   the expunged record is needed by a law enforcement unit for a pending criminal investigation; and
(ii)   the investigation will be jeopardized or life or property will be endangered without immediate access to the expunged record.
(2)   In an ex parte order, the court may not allow a copy of the expunged record to be made.
(d)    (1)   A person who violates this section is guilty of a misdemeanor and on conviction is subject to a fine not exceeding $1,000 or imprisonment not exceeding 1 year or both.
(2)   In addition to the penalties provided in paragraph (1) of this subsection, an official or employee of the State or a political subdivision of the State who is convicted under this section may be removed or dismissed from public service.