About Statutes

This page accesses the Code of Maryland (Statutes) and the Maryland Municipal Charters and Resolutions as compiled and maintained by the Department of Legislative Services.

The Code is arranged by and organized into “Articles” (e.g. Transportation Article), which are further subdivided into “titles”, “subtitles”, “sections”, “subsections”, “paragraphs”, subparagraphs”, etc.

Note that the “official” compilation of the laws (Chapters) enacted at each session of the General Assembly is published by the State as the “Laws of Maryland”, commonly referred to as the “Session Laws”. The Session Laws for each session are compiled chronologically by chapter number and serve as the source law from which the statutes accessed here are derived.

While the “Laws of Maryland” (Session Laws) constitute the official laws of the State, this Code and the annotated versions noted below are accepted as “evidence” of the law in all State courts and by all public offices and officials (See § 10-201 of the Courts & Judicial Proceedings Article). However, in the event of a conflict between the Code and the Session Laws, the Session Laws prevail.

Note: Annotated versions of the Code, published by LexisNexis and West, are available in book and online formats. These Annotated Codes include references to case law, related citations, and explanatory notations.

The Municipal Charters are updated each year by incorporating all charter resolutions received by the Department through May 31 of that year. Individual Municipal Resolutions are published to the General Assembly website as they are received by the Department.



Statute Text

ati346206.tmp
Article - Criminal Law
§11–306.  
(a)   A person may not knowingly:
(1)   engage in prostitution or assignation by any means;
(2)   keep, set up, occupy, maintain, or operate a building, structure, or conveyance for prostitution or assignation;
(3)   allow a building, structure, or conveyance owned or under the person’s control to be used for prostitution or assignation;
(4)   allow or agree to allow a person into a building, structure, or conveyance for prostitution or assignation; or
(5)   procure or solicit or offer to procure or solicit for prostitution or assignation.
(b)   A person who violates this section is guilty of a misdemeanor and on conviction is subject to imprisonment not exceeding 1 year or a fine not exceeding $500 or both.
(c)    (1)   Subject to paragraph (2) of this subsection, in a prosecution under this section, it is an affirmative defense of duress if the defendant committed the act as a result of being a victim of an act of another who was charged with violating the prohibition against human trafficking under § 11–303 of this subtitle or under federal law.
(2)   A defendant may not assert the affirmative defense provided in paragraph (1) of this subsection unless the defendant notifies the State’s Attorney of the defendant’s intention to assert the defense at least 10 days prior to trial.