About Statutes

This page accesses the Code of Maryland (Statutes) and the Maryland Municipal Charters and Resolutions as compiled and maintained by the Department of Legislative Services.

The Code is arranged by and organized into “Articles” (e.g. Transportation Article), which are further subdivided into “titles”, “subtitles”, “sections”, “subsections”, “paragraphs”, subparagraphs”, etc.

Note that the “official” compilation of the laws (Chapters) enacted at each session of the General Assembly is published by the State as the “Laws of Maryland”, commonly referred to as the “Session Laws”. The Session Laws for each session are compiled chronologically by chapter number and serve as the source law from which the statutes accessed here are derived.

While the “Laws of Maryland” (Session Laws) constitute the official laws of the State, this Code and the annotated versions noted below are accepted as “evidence” of the law in all State courts and by all public offices and officials (See § 10-201 of the Courts & Judicial Proceedings Article). However, in the event of a conflict between the Code and the Session Laws, the Session Laws prevail.

Note: Annotated versions of the Code, published by LexisNexis and West, are available in book and online formats. These Annotated Codes include references to case law, related citations, and explanatory notations.

The Municipal Charters are updated each year by incorporating all charter resolutions received by the Department through May 31 of that year. Individual Municipal Resolutions are published to the General Assembly website as they are received by the Department.



Statute Text

ati86214.tmp
Article - Family Law
§5–362.  
(a)   Except as otherwise provided by law, a person may not charge or receive, from or for a parent or prospective adoptive parent, any compensation for a service in connection with:
(1)   placement of an individual to live with a preadoptive parent, as defined in § 3-823(i)(1) of the Courts Article; or
(2)   an agreement for custody in contemplation of adoption.
(b)    (1)   In this subsection, “Administration” means the Social Services Administration of the Department.
(2)   This section does not:
(i)   prohibit payment, by an interested person, of a customary and reasonable charge or fee for hospital, legal, or medical services; or
(ii)   prevent the Administration, or a person that the Administration licenses or supervises, from receiving and accepting reasonable reimbursement for costs of an adoptive service in connection with adoption, if:
1.   the reimbursement is in accordance with standards set by regulation of the Administration; and
2.   the ability to provide this reimbursement does not affect:
A.    the acceptability of any individual for adoptive services; or
B.    the choice of the most suitable prospective adoptive parent.
(c)   Each State’s Attorney shall enforce this section.
(d)   A person who violates any provision of this section is guilty of a misdemeanor and on conviction is subject to a fine not exceeding $100 or imprisonment not exceeding 3 months or both, for each offense.