About Statutes

This page accesses the Code of Maryland (Statutes) and the Maryland Municipal Charters and Resolutions as compiled and maintained by the Department of Legislative Services.

The Code is arranged by and organized into “Articles” (e.g. Transportation Article), which are further subdivided into “titles”, “subtitles”, “sections”, “subsections”, “paragraphs”, subparagraphs”, etc.

Note that the “official” compilation of the laws (Chapters) enacted at each session of the General Assembly is published by the State as the “Laws of Maryland”, commonly referred to as the “Session Laws”. The Session Laws for each session are compiled chronologically by chapter number and serve as the source law from which the statutes accessed here are derived.

While the “Laws of Maryland” (Session Laws) constitute the official laws of the State, this Code and the annotated versions noted below are accepted as “evidence” of the law in all State courts and by all public offices and officials (See § 10-201 of the Courts & Judicial Proceedings Article). However, in the event of a conflict between the Code and the Session Laws, the Session Laws prevail.

Note: Annotated versions of the Code, published by LexisNexis and West, are available in book and online formats. These Annotated Codes include references to case law, related citations, and explanatory notations.

The Municipal Charters are updated each year by incorporating all charter resolutions received by the Department through May 31 of that year. Individual Municipal Resolutions are published to the General Assembly website as they are received by the Department.



Statute Text

ati399986.tmp
Article - Labor and Employment
§9–705.  
(a)   If a covered employee is disabled or dies due to an occupational disease, written notice of the disability or death shall be given to the employer by the covered employee or someone on behalf of the covered employee:
(1)   for disability, within 1 year after the covered employee knows or has reason to believe that the covered employee has the occupational disease; or
(2)   for death, within 1 year after the death.
(b)   Unless notice is waived under subsection (d) of this section or excused by the Commission under § 9-706 of this subtitle, failure to give notice bars a claim under this title.
(c)   The employer in whose employment the covered employee was last injuriously exposed to the conditions that cause an occupational disease is considered to have notice of the occupational disease if the employer or the responsible superintendent in charge of the work of the covered employee has actual knowledge that the covered employee:
(1)   was exposed to the conditions that cause the occupational disease; and
(2)   has the occupational disease.
(d)   The notice required by subsection (a) of this section is waived if the employer or its insurer:
(1)   pays compensation for disability or death from an occupational disease; or
(2)   by its affirmative conduct leads the covered employee or other claimant to reasonably believe that the notice has been waived.