About Statutes

This page accesses the Code of Maryland (Statutes) and the Maryland Municipal Charters and Resolutions as compiled and maintained by the Department of Legislative Services.

The Code is arranged by and organized into “Articles” (e.g. Transportation Article), which are further subdivided into “titles”, “subtitles”, “sections”, “subsections”, “paragraphs”, subparagraphs”, etc.

Note that the “official” compilation of the laws (Chapters) enacted at each session of the General Assembly is published by the State as the “Laws of Maryland”, commonly referred to as the “Session Laws”. The Session Laws for each session are compiled chronologically by chapter number and serve as the source law from which the statutes accessed here are derived.

While the “Laws of Maryland” (Session Laws) constitute the official laws of the State, this Code and the annotated versions noted below are accepted as “evidence” of the law in all State courts and by all public offices and officials (See § 10-201 of the Courts & Judicial Proceedings Article). However, in the event of a conflict between the Code and the Session Laws, the Session Laws prevail.

Note: Annotated versions of the Code, published by LexisNexis and West, are available in book and online formats. These Annotated Codes include references to case law, related citations, and explanatory notations.

The Municipal Charters are updated each year by incorporating all charter resolutions received by the Department through May 31 of that year. Individual Municipal Resolutions are published to the General Assembly website as they are received by the Department.

Statute Text

Article - Labor and Employment
(a)   If an accidental personal injury causes disability for more than 3 days or death, the employer shall report the accidental personal injury and the disability or death to the Commission within 10 days after receiving oral or written notice of the disability or death.
(b)   On learning or receiving notice that a covered employee has been disabled due to an occupational disease, the employer promptly shall report the disability to the Commission.
(c)   Each report under subsection (a) or (b) of this section shall state:
(1)   whether the accidental personal injury or occupational disease arose out of and in the course of employment;
(2)   the time, cause, and nature of the disability and the accidental personal injury or occupational disease;
(3)   the probable duration of the disability; and
(4)   any other information that the Commission may require by regulation.
(d)   The Commission shall provide the Commissioner of Labor and Industry with electronic access to the data contained in the reports filed under subsections (a) and (b) of this section.