About Statutes

This page accesses the Code of Maryland (Statutes) and the Maryland Municipal Charters and Resolutions as compiled and maintained by the Department of Legislative Services.

The Code is arranged by and organized into “Articles” (e.g. Transportation Article), which are further subdivided into “titles”, “subtitles”, “sections”, “subsections”, “paragraphs”, subparagraphs”, etc.

Note that the “official” compilation of the laws (Chapters) enacted at each session of the General Assembly is published by the State as the “Laws of Maryland”, commonly referred to as the “Session Laws”. The Session Laws for each session are compiled chronologically by chapter number and serve as the source law from which the statutes accessed here are derived.

While the “Laws of Maryland” (Session Laws) constitute the official laws of the State, this Code and the annotated versions noted below are accepted as “evidence” of the law in all State courts and by all public offices and officials (See § 10-201 of the Courts & Judicial Proceedings Article). However, in the event of a conflict between the Code and the Session Laws, the Session Laws prevail.

Note: Annotated versions of the Code, published by LexisNexis and West, are available in book and online formats. These Annotated Codes include references to case law, related citations, and explanatory notations.

The Municipal Charters are updated each year by incorporating all charter resolutions received by the Department through May 31 of that year. Individual Municipal Resolutions are published to the General Assembly website as they are received by the Department.



Statute Text

ati144334.tmp
Article - State Government
§7–214.  
(a)   This subtitle does not affect any other requirement as to notice, including a time that is specifically set for the publication of the notice.
(b)    (1)   A unit shall submit a notice that sets a date for a hearing or meeting or for the termination of the opportunity to be heard in time for publication in an issue of the Register that will be published:
(i)   on or before the date set by law for publication of the notice; or
(ii)   if the date for publication is not set by law, at least 15 days before the date for the hearing or meeting or for the termination of the opportunity to be heard.
(2)   As to a notice that paragraph (1)(ii) of this subsection governs, publication of the notice less than 15 days before the date for a hearing or meeting or the termination of the opportunity to be heard does not prejudice the effectiveness of the notice, if notice of less than 15 days is reasonable.
(3)   Unless notice by publication is insufficient in law, a notice that sets a date for a hearing or meeting or for the termination of the opportunity to be heard and that is submitted as required by this subsection constitutes, on publication, notice to:
(i)   each person who resides in the State; or
(ii)   each person who holds an interest in property in the State.
(c)   Publication of a notice as required by this subtitle and as required by any other provision of the Code are both necessary to constitute full compliance with law.