About Statutes

This page accesses the Code of Maryland (Statutes) and the Maryland Municipal Charters and Resolutions as compiled and maintained by the Department of Legislative Services.

The Code is arranged by and organized into “Articles” (e.g. Transportation Article), which are further subdivided into “titles”, “subtitles”, “sections”, “subsections”, “paragraphs”, subparagraphs”, etc.

Note that the “official” compilation of the laws (Chapters) enacted at each session of the General Assembly is published by the State as the “Laws of Maryland”, commonly referred to as the “Session Laws”. The Session Laws for each session are compiled chronologically by chapter number and serve as the source law from which the statutes accessed here are derived.

While the “Laws of Maryland” (Session Laws) constitute the official laws of the State, this Code and the annotated versions noted below are accepted as “evidence” of the law in all State courts and by all public offices and officials (See § 10-201 of the Courts & Judicial Proceedings Article). However, in the event of a conflict between the Code and the Session Laws, the Session Laws prevail.

Note: Annotated versions of the Code, published by LexisNexis and West, are available in book and online formats. These Annotated Codes include references to case law, related citations, and explanatory notations.

The Municipal Charters are updated each year by incorporating all charter resolutions received by the Department through May 31 of that year. Individual Municipal Resolutions are published to the General Assembly website as they are received by the Department.



Statute Text

ati768492.tmp
Article - Transportation
§16–117.1.  
(a)   In this section, “criminal offense” does not include any violation of the Maryland Vehicle Law.
(b)   The Administration shall expunge the public driving record of a licensee if:
(1)   The licensee has not been convicted of a moving violation or a criminal offense involving a motor vehicle for the preceding 3 years, and the licensee’s license never has been suspended for reasons related to driver safety, as defined by the Administration, or revoked;
(2)   The licensee has not been convicted of a moving violation or a criminal offense involving a motor vehicle for the preceding 5 years, and the licensee’s record shows not more than one suspension for reasons related to driver safety, as defined by the Administration, and no revocations; or
(3)   Within the preceding 10 years:
(i)   The licensee has not been granted probation before judgment for a violation of § 20–102 or § 21–902 of this article; and
(ii)   The licensee has not been convicted of any moving violation or criminal offense involving a motor vehicle, regardless of the number of suspensions or revocations.
(c)   The Administration may refuse to expunge a driving record if it determines that the licensee has not driven a motor vehicle on the highways during the particular conviction–free period on which the expungement is based.
(d)   Notwithstanding any other provision of this section, the Administration may not expunge:
(1)   Any driving records before the expiration of the time they are required to be retained under § 16–819 of this title;
(2)   Any driving record entries required for assessment of subsequent offender penalties; and
(3)   Any driving record entries related to a moving violation or an accident that resulted in the death of another person.
(e)   The Administration shall adopt regulations to carry out this section.