About Statutes

This page accesses the Code of Maryland (Statutes) and the Maryland Municipal Charters and Resolutions as compiled and maintained by the Department of Legislative Services.

The Code is arranged by and organized into “Articles” (e.g. Transportation Article), which are further subdivided into “titles”, “subtitles”, “sections”, “subsections”, “paragraphs”, subparagraphs”, etc.

Note that the “official” compilation of the laws (Chapters) enacted at each session of the General Assembly is published by the State as the “Laws of Maryland”, commonly referred to as the “Session Laws”. The Session Laws for each session are compiled chronologically by chapter number and serve as the source law from which the statutes accessed here are derived.

While the “Laws of Maryland” (Session Laws) constitute the official laws of the State, this Code and the annotated versions noted below are accepted as “evidence” of the law in all State courts and by all public offices and officials (See § 10-201 of the Courts & Judicial Proceedings Article). However, in the event of a conflict between the Code and the Session Laws, the Session Laws prevail.

Note: Annotated versions of the Code, published by LexisNexis and West, are available in book and online formats. These Annotated Codes include references to case law, related citations, and explanatory notations.

The Municipal Charters are updated each year by incorporating all charter resolutions received by the Department through May 31 of that year. Individual Municipal Resolutions are published to the General Assembly website as they are received by the Department.

Statute Text

Article - Transportation
(a)   After the conviction of an individual for a violation of Title 2, Subtitle 5, § 2–209, § 3–211, or § 10–110 of the Criminal Law Article, or of the vehicle laws or regulations of this State or of any local authority, points shall be assessed against the individual as of the date of violation and as follows:
(1)   Any moving violation not listed below and not contributing to an accident...1 point
(2)   Following another vehicle too closely2 points
(3)   Speeding in excess of the posted speed limit by 10 miles an hour or more..2 points
(4)   Driving with an improper class of license2 points
(5)   Failing to stop for a school vehicle with activated alternately flashing red lights...3 points
(6)   Any violation of § 21–1111 of this article2 points
(7)   Passing an emergency or police vehicle under the provisions of § 21–405(d) of this article2 points
(8)   A violation of § 21–511(a) of this article2 points
(9)   Failure to stop a vehicle for a steady red traffic signal in violation of § 21–202 of this article or a nonfunctioning traffic control signal in violation of § 21–209 of this article2 points
(10)   Operating a limousine in violation of § 21–1127(a) of this article.2 points
(11)   Use of a motor vehicle in violation of the Illegal Dumping and Litter Control Law under § 10–110(f)(2)(i) of the Criminal Law Article2 points
(12)   Use of a motor vehicle in violation of the Illegal Dumping and Litter Control Law under § 10–110(f)(2)(ii) of the Criminal Law Article3 points
(13)   Any moving violation contributing to an accident3 points
(14)   Any violation of § 16–303(h) or (i) of this title3 points
(15)   Any violation, except violations committed on the John F. Kennedy Memorial Highway, of § 21–1411 of this article3 points
(16)   Speeding in excess of the posted speed limit by 30 miles an hour or more..................................................................................................................5 points
(17)   Driving while not licensed5 points
(18)   Failure to report an accident5 points
(19)   Driving on a learner’s permit unaccompanied5 points
(20)   Any violation of § 17–107 of this article5 points
(21)   Participating in a race or speed contest on a highway5 points
(22)   Any violation of § 16–304 or § 16–305 of this title5 points
(23)   Any violation of § 22–404.5 of this article5 points
(24)   Speeding in excess of a posted speed limit of 65 miles an hour by 20 miles an hour or more5 points
(25)   Aggressive driving in violation of § 21–901.2 of this article.5 points
(26)   Use of a motor vehicle in violation of the Illegal Dumping and Litter Control Law under § 10–110(f)(2)(iii) of the Criminal Law Article5 points
(27)   Reckless driving6 points
(28)   Driving while impaired by alcohol or while impaired by a drug, combination of drugs, or a combination of one or more drugs and alcohol, or driving within 12 hours after arrest under § 21–902.1 of this article8 points
(29)   Turning off lights of a vehicle to avoid identification8 points
(30)   Failing to stop after accident resulting in damage to attended vehicle or property..8 points
(31)   Failing to stop after accident resulting in damage to unattended vehicle or property..8 points
(32)   Any violation of § 16–815 or § 16–816 of this title8 points
(33)   Failing to stop after an accident resulting in bodily injury or death12 points
(34)   Any violation of § 16–303 of this title, excluding § 16–303(h) or (i)..12 points
(35)   Any violation of § 16–301, § 16–302, § 16–804, or § 16–808(a)(1) through (9) or (b) of this title12 points
(36)   Homicide, life threatening injury under § 3–211 of the Criminal Law Article, or assault committed by means of a vehicle12 points
(37)   Driving while under the influence of alcohol, while under the influence of alcohol per se, or while impaired by an illegally used controlled dangerous substance12 points
(38)   Any felony involving use of a vehicle12 points
(39)   Fleeing or attempting to elude a police officer12 points
(40)   The making of a false affidavit or statement under oath, or falsely certifying to the truth of any fact or information to the Administration under the Maryland Vehicle Law or under any law relating to the ownership or operation of motor vehicles12 points
(41)   Any violation involving an unlawful taking or unauthorized use of a motor vehicle under § 7–105 or § 7–203 of the Criminal Law Article, or § 14–102 of this article..12 points
(42)   A violation of § 21–1124.3 of this article12 points
(b)   If a conviction occurs on multiple charges based on offenses alleged to have been committed at the same time or arising out of circumstances simultaneous in time and place, the Administration:
(1)   Shall assess points against the individual convicted only on the charge that has the highest point assessment; and
(2)   May not assess points on the remainder of the multiple charges.
(c)    (1)   On receiving a record of conviction of any moving violation by an individual whose license is currently revoked, the Administration may extend the date before which the individual is eligible for reinstatement and, if the date is extended, shall issue to the individual a notice that:
(i)   States the duration of the extension of the license revocation, dating from the date of the violation, during which the individual’s license may not be reinstated; and
(ii)   Advises the individual of the right to request a hearing.
(2)   A notice issued under this subsection, and a hearing requested by the individual, shall meet the requirements of Title 12, Subtitle 2 of this article.
(3)   The Administration may extend the period of a license revocation under this subsection for not more than the period of time specified in paragraph (4) of this subsection:
(i)   If the individual does not request a hearing as provided by Title 12, Subtitle 2 of this article;
(ii)   After a hearing, if the individual is determined to have been convicted of a violation described in this subsection while the individual’s license to drive was revoked; or
(iii)   If the individual fails to appear for a hearing requested by the individual under this subsection.
(4)   The Administration may extend the period of license revocation for not more than:
(i)   1 year if it is the individual’s first violation;
(ii)   18 months if it is the individual’s second violation; or
(iii)   2 years if it is the individual’s third or subsequent violation.
(d)   Notwithstanding any other provision of this title, the Administration may not revoke a license that is currently revoked.