About Statutes

This page accesses the Code of Maryland (Statutes) and the Maryland Municipal Charters and Resolutions as compiled and maintained by the Department of Legislative Services.

The Code is arranged by and organized into “Articles” (e.g. Transportation Article), which are further subdivided into “titles”, “subtitles”, “sections”, “subsections”, “paragraphs”, subparagraphs”, etc.

Note that the “official” compilation of the laws (Chapters) enacted at each session of the General Assembly is published by the State as the “Laws of Maryland”, commonly referred to as the “Session Laws”. The Session Laws for each session are compiled chronologically by chapter number and serve as the source law from which the statutes accessed here are derived.

While the “Laws of Maryland” (Session Laws) constitute the official laws of the State, this Code and the annotated versions noted below are accepted as “evidence” of the law in all State courts and by all public offices and officials (See § 10-201 of the Courts & Judicial Proceedings Article). However, in the event of a conflict between the Code and the Session Laws, the Session Laws prevail.

Note: Annotated versions of the Code, published by LexisNexis and West, are available in book and online formats. These Annotated Codes include references to case law, related citations, and explanatory notations.

The Municipal Charters are updated each year by incorporating all charter resolutions received by the Department through May 31 of that year. Individual Municipal Resolutions are published to the General Assembly website as they are received by the Department.

Statute Text

Article - Alcoholic Beverages
(a)   The Governor shall appoint three members to the Board.
(b)   Each member of the Board shall be:
(1)   a registered voter of the county during the member’s term of office; and
(2)   an individual of good moral character and integrity who reasonably reflects the citizenry of the county.
(c)    (1)   In this subsection, “direct or indirect interest” means an interest that is proprietary or obtained by a loan, mortgage, or lien or in any other manner.
(2)   A member of the Board may not:
(i)   have a direct or indirect interest in or on a premises where alcoholic beverages are manufactured or sold;
(ii)   have a direct or indirect interest in a business wholly or partly devoted to the manufacture or sale of alcoholic beverages;
(iii)   own stock in:
1.   a corporation that has a direct or indirect interest in a premises where alcoholic beverages are manufactured or sold; or
2.   a business wholly or partly devoted to the manufacture or sale of alcoholic beverages;
(iv)   hold any other public office or employment; or
(v)   solicit or receive, directly or indirectly, a commission, remuneration, or gift from:
1.   a person engaged in the manufacture or sale of alcoholic beverages; or
2.   a license holder.
(3)   A person who violates this subsection is guilty of a misdemeanor and is subject to a fine not exceeding $1,000.
(d)    (1)   The term of a member is 5 years.
(2)   The terms of the members are staggered as required by the terms provided for members of the Board on July 1, 2016.
(e)   A member who is appointed after a term has begun serves only for the rest of the term and until a successor is appointed and qualifies.
(f)    (1)   The Governor may remove a member for incompetence, misconduct, neglect of a duty required by law, or unprofessional or dishonorable conduct.
(2)   The Governor shall give a member who is charged a copy of the charges against the member and, with at least 10 days’ notice, an opportunity to be heard publicly in person or by counsel.
(3)   If a member is removed, the Governor shall file with the Office of the Secretary of State a statement of charges against the member and the Governor’s findings on the charges.