About Statutes

This page accesses the Code of Maryland (Statutes) and the Maryland Municipal Charters and Resolutions as compiled and maintained by the Department of Legislative Services.

The Code is arranged by and organized into “Articles” (e.g. Transportation Article), which are further subdivided into “titles”, “subtitles”, “sections”, “subsections”, “paragraphs”, subparagraphs”, etc.

Note that the “official” compilation of the laws (Chapters) enacted at each session of the General Assembly is published by the State as the “Laws of Maryland”, commonly referred to as the “Session Laws”. The Session Laws for each session are compiled chronologically by chapter number and serve as the source law from which the statutes accessed here are derived.

While the “Laws of Maryland” (Session Laws) constitute the official laws of the State, this Code and the annotated versions noted below are accepted as “evidence” of the law in all State courts and by all public offices and officials (See § 10-201 of the Courts & Judicial Proceedings Article). However, in the event of a conflict between the Code and the Session Laws, the Session Laws prevail.

Note: Annotated versions of the Code, published by LexisNexis and West, are available in book and online formats. These Annotated Codes include references to case law, related citations, and explanatory notations.

The Municipal Charters are updated each year by incorporating all charter resolutions received by the Department through May 31 of that year. Individual Municipal Resolutions are published to the General Assembly website as they are received by the Department.

Statute Text

Article - Commercial Law
(a)   A merchant who engages in a violation of this title is subject to a fine of not more than $1,000 for each violation.
(b)   A merchant who has been found to have engaged in a violation of this title and who subsequently repeats the same violation is subject to a fine of not more than $5,000 for each subsequent violation.
(c)   The fines provided for in subsections (a) and (b) of this section are civil penalties and are recoverable by the State in a civil action or an administrative cease and desist action under § 13-403(a) and (b) of this subtitle or after an administrative hearing has been held under § 13-403(d)(3) and (4) of this subtitle.
(d)   The Consumer Protection Division shall consider the following in setting the amount of the penalty imposed in an administrative proceeding:
(1)   The severity of the violation for which the penalty is assessed;
(2)   The good faith of the violator;
(3)   Any history of prior violations;
(4)   Whether the amount of the penalty will achieve the desired deterrent purpose; and
(5)   Whether the issuance of a cease and desist order, including restitution, is insufficient for the protection of consumers.