About Statutes

This page accesses the Code of Maryland (Statutes) and the Maryland Municipal Charters and Resolutions as compiled and maintained by the Department of Legislative Services.

The Code is arranged by and organized into “Articles” (e.g. Transportation Article), which are further subdivided into “titles”, “subtitles”, “sections”, “subsections”, “paragraphs”, subparagraphs”, etc.

Note that the “official” compilation of the laws (Chapters) enacted at each session of the General Assembly is published by the State as the “Laws of Maryland”, commonly referred to as the “Session Laws”. The Session Laws for each session are compiled chronologically by chapter number and serve as the source law from which the statutes accessed here are derived.

While the “Laws of Maryland” (Session Laws) constitute the official laws of the State, this Code and the annotated versions noted below are accepted as “evidence” of the law in all State courts and by all public offices and officials (See § 10-201 of the Courts & Judicial Proceedings Article). However, in the event of a conflict between the Code and the Session Laws, the Session Laws prevail.

Note: Annotated versions of the Code, published by LexisNexis and West, are available in book and online formats. These Annotated Codes include references to case law, related citations, and explanatory notations.

The Municipal Charters are updated each year by incorporating all charter resolutions received by the Department through May 31 of that year. Individual Municipal Resolutions are published to the General Assembly website as they are received by the Department.



Statute Text

ati532284.tmp
Article - Education
§9.5–111.  
(a)    (1)   In this section the following words have the meanings indicated.
(2)   “Analysis” means the market rate survey or an alternative method allowable under federal law.
(3)   “Program” means the Child Care Subsidy Program.
(b)    (1)   Beginning in 2017, and every 2 years thereafter, the Department shall conduct an analysis in order to formulate appropriate reimbursement rates for the Program.
(2)   The Department, before conducting the analysis, shall consult with:
(i)   The Office of Child Care Advisory Council;
(ii)   Child care resource and referral agencies;
(iii)   Child care worker organizations; and
(iv)   Any other appropriate entities.
(c)   On or before September 1, 2017, and by September 1 every 2 years thereafter, the Department shall report to the Joint Committee on Children, Youth, and Families, the Senate Budget and Taxation Committee, and the House Appropriations Committee, in accordance with § 2–1246 of the State Government Article, on:
(1)   The methodology of the analysis required under subsection (b) of this section;
(2)   Cost estimates for raising the Program’s reimbursement rates to the 45th, 55th, 65th, and 75th percentile of child care providers in each of the State’s market regions;
(3)   The minimum base payment rate that is required for child care providers to meet health, safety, quality, and staffing requirements in accordance with federal law and the factors used to determine that rate;
(4)   The rate adjustment that the Department will implement based on the analysis;
(5)   Any adjustments to Program eligibility or family copay amount that will be implemented; and
(6)   Any potential impacts on families and providers due to any adjustments made to the Program.