About Statutes

This page accesses the Code of Maryland (Statutes) and the Maryland Municipal Charters and Resolutions as compiled and maintained by the Department of Legislative Services.

The Code is arranged by and organized into “Articles” (e.g. Transportation Article), which are further subdivided into “titles”, “subtitles”, “sections”, “subsections”, “paragraphs”, subparagraphs”, etc.

Note that the “official” compilation of the laws (Chapters) enacted at each session of the General Assembly is published by the State as the “Laws of Maryland”, commonly referred to as the “Session Laws”. The Session Laws for each session are compiled chronologically by chapter number and serve as the source law from which the statutes accessed here are derived.

While the “Laws of Maryland” (Session Laws) constitute the official laws of the State, this Code and the annotated versions noted below are accepted as “evidence” of the law in all State courts and by all public offices and officials (See § 10-201 of the Courts & Judicial Proceedings Article). However, in the event of a conflict between the Code and the Session Laws, the Session Laws prevail.

Note: Annotated versions of the Code, published by LexisNexis and West, are available in book and online formats. These Annotated Codes include references to case law, related citations, and explanatory notations.

The Municipal Charters are updated each year by incorporating all charter resolutions received by the Department through May 31 of that year. Individual Municipal Resolutions are published to the General Assembly website as they are received by the Department.



Statute Text

ati682394.tmp
Article - Health - General
§13–3309.  
(a)   A processor shall be licensed by the Commission.
(b)   To be licensed as a processor, an applicant shall submit to the Commission:
(1)   An application fee in an amount to be determined by the Commission in accordance with this subtitle; and
(2)   An application that includes:
(i)   The legal name and physical address of the proposed processor;
(ii)   The name, address, and date of birth of each principal officer and director, none of whom may have served as a principal officer or director for a licensee under this subtitle that has had its license revoked; and
(iii)   Operating procedures that the processor will use, consistent with Commission regulations for oversight, including storage of cannabis, extracts, and products containing cannabis only in enclosed and locked facilities.
(c)   The Commission shall establish an application review process for granting processor licenses in which applications are reviewed, evaluated, and ranked based on criteria established by the Commission.
(d)    (1)   A processor license is valid for 4 years on initial licensure.
(2)   A processor license is valid for 2 years on renewal.
(e)   A processor licensed under this section or a processor agent registered under § 13–3310 of this subtitle may not be penalized or arrested under State law for acquiring, possessing, processing, transferring, transporting, selling, distributing, or dispensing cannabis, products containing cannabis, related supplies, or educational materials for use by a licensee under this subtitle or a qualifying patient or a caregiver.
(f)   The Commission shall establish requirements for security and product handling procedures that a processor must meet to obtain a license under this section, including a requirement for a product–tracking system.
(g)   The Commission may inspect a processor licensed under this section to ensure compliance with this subtitle.
(h)   The Commission may impose penalties or rescind the license of a processor that does not meet the standards for licensure set by the Commission.