About Statutes

This page accesses the Code of Maryland (Statutes) and the Maryland Municipal Charters and Resolutions as compiled and maintained by the Department of Legislative Services.

The Code is arranged by and organized into “Articles” (e.g. Transportation Article), which are further subdivided into “titles”, “subtitles”, “sections”, “subsections”, “paragraphs”, subparagraphs”, etc.

Note that the “official” compilation of the laws (Chapters) enacted at each session of the General Assembly is published by the State as the “Laws of Maryland”, commonly referred to as the “Session Laws”. The Session Laws for each session are compiled chronologically by chapter number and serve as the source law from which the statutes accessed here are derived.

While the “Laws of Maryland” (Session Laws) constitute the official laws of the State, this Code and the annotated versions noted below are accepted as “evidence” of the law in all State courts and by all public offices and officials (See § 10-201 of the Courts & Judicial Proceedings Article). However, in the event of a conflict between the Code and the Session Laws, the Session Laws prevail.

Note: Annotated versions of the Code, published by LexisNexis and West, are available in book and online formats. These Annotated Codes include references to case law, related citations, and explanatory notations.

The Municipal Charters are updated each year by incorporating all charter resolutions received by the Department through May 31 of that year. Individual Municipal Resolutions are published to the General Assembly website as they are received by the Department.



Statute Text

ati727912.tmp
Article - Natural Resources
§10–415.  
(a)   There are the following 3 seasons to hunt deer:
(1)   Deer bow hunting season;
(2)   Deer firearms season; and
(3)   Deer muzzle loader season.
(b)   A person who harvests a game bird or mammal shall report the harvest in accordance with regulations adopted by the Department.
(c)    (1)   A person with a hunting license also may purchase bonus deer stamps from the Department.
(2)   A bonus deer stamp allows a person with the hunting license to hunt 1 deer for each stamp purchased in any of the following hunting seasons for deer in the State:
(i)   Deer bow hunting season;
(ii)   Deer muzzle loader season; and
(iii)   Deer firearms season.
(3)   An individual who purchases a bonus antlered deer stamp but does not use it during a particular season may use that stamp during any subsequent season in that hunting license year.
(4)   The fee for each bonus antlered deer stamp issued in accordance with this subsection shall be $10.00 for residents and $25.00 for nonresidents.
(5)   The Department may establish by regulation the type and number of deer stamps issued under this subsection if necessary to control the deer harvest in various areas of the State.
(d)    (1)   In this subsection, “Deer Management Permit” means a permit issued by the Department authorizing the holder or an agent of the holder to hunt deer outside of deer hunting season for the purpose of preventing damage to crops.
(2)   In Charles County and St. Mary’s County, an individual who hunts deer under a Deer Management Permit may:
(i)   Use a shotgun or breech loading center fired rifle approved by the Department to hunt deer throughout the year, including all deer hunting seasons, in the locations and under the conditions set forth in the permit; and
(ii)   On State land in Charles County or St. Mary’s County leased by the permit holder for the purpose of cultivating crops, hunt deer on the leased land in the locations and under the conditions set forth in the permit.
(3)   To protect public safety and welfare, the Department may restrict the lands on which an individual may hunt deer under a Deer Management Permit.
(4)    (i)   This paragraph applies only in Frederick County.
(ii)   Subject to the conditions set forth in a Deer Management Permit, a permittee may use a rifle approved by the Department to harvest deer throughout the year, including all deer hunting seasons.
(iii)   In Frederick County Zone 1, as defined in COMAR 08.03.03.06A.(3)(g), an agent of a permittee may use a rifle to harvest deer throughout the year.
(iv)    1.   This subparagraph applies only in Frederick County Zone 2, as defined in COMAR 08.03.03.06A.(3)(h).
2.   Except as provided in subsubparagraph 3 of this subparagraph, an agent of a permittee may use a rifle to harvest deer in a period beginning October 1 and ending March 31.
3.   In a deer firearms season, an agent of a permittee may harvest deer only by using the weapon approved for that season.
(v)   The Department shall adopt regulations to implement this subsection.
(e)   A person may not remove the head or hide or any part from any deer, except internal organs, or cut the meat into parts until the person has obtained a confirmation number for that deer from the Department. Removal of the head or the hide of any deer before obtaining a confirmation number for that deer shall be prima facie evidence that the deer was hunted illegally. Each separate deer taken illegally or found in possession shall be considered a separate offense.
(f)   A person who possesses a game bird or mammal killed by means other than hunting shall report the possession in accordance with regulations adopted by the Department.
(g)   A person may not hunt a deer while the deer is taking refuge in or swimming through the waters of the State.
(h)   Upon written request from a federal facility for a variance from the established deer hunting season, the Department shall review the request and may:
(1)   Approve the request;
(2)   Deny the request; or
(3)   Approve the request with conditions.