About Statutes

This page accesses the Code of Maryland (Statutes) and the Maryland Municipal Charters and Resolutions as compiled and maintained by the Department of Legislative Services.

The Code is arranged by and organized into “Articles” (e.g. Transportation Article), which are further subdivided into “titles”, “subtitles”, “sections”, “subsections”, “paragraphs”, subparagraphs”, etc.

Note that the “official” compilation of the laws (Chapters) enacted at each session of the General Assembly is published by the State as the “Laws of Maryland”, commonly referred to as the “Session Laws”. The Session Laws for each session are compiled chronologically by chapter number and serve as the source law from which the statutes accessed here are derived.

While the “Laws of Maryland” (Session Laws) constitute the official laws of the State, this Code and the annotated versions noted below are accepted as “evidence” of the law in all State courts and by all public offices and officials (See § 10-201 of the Courts & Judicial Proceedings Article). However, in the event of a conflict between the Code and the Session Laws, the Session Laws prevail.

Note: Annotated versions of the Code, published by LexisNexis and West, are available in book and online formats. These Annotated Codes include references to case law, related citations, and explanatory notations.

The Municipal Charters are updated each year by incorporating all charter resolutions received by the Department through May 31 of that year. Individual Municipal Resolutions are published to the General Assembly website as they are received by the Department.



Statute Text

ati770488.tmp
Article - Transportation
§25–108.     IN EFFECT
// EFFECTIVE UNTIL SEPTEMBER 30, 2018 PER CHAPTER 734 OF 2016 //
(a)   In this section, “HOV lane” means a high occupancy vehicle lane, the use of which is restricted by a traffic control device during specified times to vehicles carrying at least a specified number of occupants.
(b)   This section applies only to:
(1)   A plug–in electric drive vehicle that has a maximum speed capability of at least 65 miles per hour; and
(2)   A qualified hybrid vehicle as defined in § 23–202(b)(3) of this article.
(c)    (1)   Whenever the State Highway Administration designates a portion of a highway as an HOV lane, the HOV lane may be used at all times by plug–in electric drive vehicles that have obtained a permit from the Administration under this section, regardless of the number of passengers in the vehicle.
(2)   For the portion of U.S. Route 50 designated as an HOV lane, between Interstate 95/Interstate 495 and U.S. Route 301, the HOV lane may be used at all times by qualified hybrid vehicles that have obtained a permit from the Administration under this section, regardless of the number of passengers in the vehicle.
(d)    (1)   The Administration, the State Highway Administration, and the Department of State Police shall consult to design a permit to designate a vehicle as a plug–in electric drive vehicle or a qualified hybrid vehicle authorized to use an HOV lane.
(2)   The Administration may charge a fee, not to exceed $20, for issuing a permit under this section.
(3)   The Administration, on the recommendation of the State Highway Administration, may limit the number of permits issued to ensure HOV lane operations are not degraded to an unacceptable level.
(e)   On or before January 1 of each year, the Administration and the State Highway Administration jointly shall report to the Governor and, in accordance with § 2–1246 of the State Government Article, the General Assembly on the effect of the use of the plug–in electric drive vehicle and qualified hybrid vehicle permits issued under this section on the operation of HOV lanes in the State.