About Committees

Much of the legislature’s work is done by its committees. Committees include standing committees, statutory committees, special committees, and select committees (commonly known as county or regional delegations). Special committees are usually temporary and go out of existence when their purposes have been fulfilled.

The Department of Legislative Services assigns to the committees policy analysts who generally facilitate and support the work of the committees, including reviewing and analyzing legislation to identify legal and policy issues and drafting amendments, floor reports, and other informational documents to assist the chairs and members of the committees.

Assistants to the Chair are responsible for the day-to-day management of the Committee office throughout the year.

Committee List

Senate StandingHouse StandingSenate SpecialHouse SpecialSenate SelectHouse DelegationStatutoryJointSpecial JointOther

Senate StandingChair Vice ChairContact
Budget and Taxation Kasemeyer, Edward J.Madaleno, Richard S., Jr.Contact Committee Chair
Education, Health, and Environmental Affairs Conway, Joan CarterPinsky, Paul G.Contact Committee Chair
Executive Nominations Raskin, JamieKelley, Delores G.Contact Committee Chair
Finance Middleton, Thomas M.Astle, John C.Contact Committee Chair
Judicial Proceedings Zirkin, Bobby A.Gladden, Lisa A.Contact Committee Chair
Rules Klausmeier, KatherineDeGrange, James E., Sr.Contact Committee Chair

House StandingChair Vice ChairContact
Appropriations McIntosh, MaggieProctor, James E., Jr.Contact Committee Chair
Economic Matters Davis, Dereck E.Jameson, SallyContact Committee Chair
Environment and Transportation Barve, Kumar P.Stein, DanaContact Committee Chair
Health and Government Operations Hammen, Peter A.Pendergrass, Shane E.Contact Committee Chair
Rules and Executive Nominations Healey, AnneWalker, JayContact Committee Chair
Judiciary Vallario, Joseph F., Jr.Dumais, Kathleen M.Contact Committee Chair
Ways and Means Hixson, Sheila E.Turner, Frank S.Contact Committee Chair

Senate SpecialChair Vice ChairContact
Special Committe on Substance AbusePugh, Catherine E.Contact Committee Chair

House SpecialChair Vice ChairContact
Special Committee on Drug and Alcohol AbuseWaldstreicher, JeffContact Committee Chair
Emergency Medical Services System WorkgroupHolmes, Marvin E., Jr.

Senate SelectChair Vice ChairContact
No. 1 - Allegany, Garrett, and Washington CountiesEdwards, George C.Contact Committee Chair
No. 2 - Carroll and Frederick Counties
No. 3 - Harford County
No. 4 - Baltimore CountyKlausmeier, KatherineContact Committee Chair
No. 5 - Howard CountyGuzzone, GuyContact Committee Chair
No. 6 - Montgomery CountyKing, Nancy J.Contact Committee Chair
No. 7 - Prince George's CountyPeters, Douglas J. J.Contact Committee Chair
No. 8 - Charles, St. Mary's, and Calvert Counties
No. 9 - Anne Arundel CountyAstle, John C.Contact Committee Chair
No. 10 - Eastern Shore
No. 11 - Baltimore City

House DelegationChair Vice ChairContact
AlleganyBeitzel, Wendell R.Contact Committee Chair
Anne ArundelBeidle, PamelaContact Committee Chair
Baltimore CityAnderson, CurtContact Committee Chair
Baltimore CountyLafferty, Stephen W.Contact Committee Chair
CarrollKrebs, Susan W.Contact Committee Chair
CalvertFisher, Mark N.Contact Committee Chair
CecilHornberger, Kevin BaileyContact Committee Chair
CharlesJameson, SallyContact Committee Chair
CarolineGhrist, Jefferson L.Contact Committee Chair
DorchesterAdams, Christopher T.Contact Committee Chair
Eastern ShoreOtto, Charles J.Contact Committee Chair
FrederickAfzali, KathyContact Committee Chair
GarrettBeitzel, Wendell R.Contact Committee Chair
HarfordImpallaria, RickContact Committee Chair
HowardTurner, Frank S.Contact Committee Chair
KentJacobs, Jay A.Contact Committee Chair
MontgomeryRobinson, ShaneContact Committee Chair
Prince George'sWalker, JayContact Committee Chair
Queen Anne'sArentz, Steven J.Contact Committee Chair
SomersetOtto, Charles J.Contact Committee Chair
Southern MarylandJameson, SallyContact Committee Chair
St. Mary'sO'Donnell, Anthony J.Contact Committee Chair
TalbotMautz, JohnnyContact Committee Chair
WashingtonSerafini, Andrew A.Contact Committee Chair
Western MarylandSerafini, Andrew A.Contact Committee Chair
WicomicoAnderton, Carl, Jr.Contact Committee Chair
WorcesterCarozza, Mary BethContact Committee Chair

StatutoryChair Vice ChairContact
Legislative Policy CommitteeMiller, Thomas V. Mike, Jr., Busch, Michael E. and Busch, Michael E.Contact Committee Chair
Joint Committee on Administrative, Executive, and Legislative Review (AELR)Manno, Roger P. and Rosenberg, Samuel I.Contact Committee Chair
Spending Affordability CommitteeManno, Roger P. and Proctor, James E., Jr.Contact Committee Chair
Joint Audit CommitteeGuzzone, GuyContact Committee Chair
Joint Committee on the Chesapeake and Atlantic Coastal Bays Critical AreaMathias, James N., Jr. and Frush, BarbaraContact Committee Chair
Joint Committee on Children, Youth, and FamiliesKing, Nancy J.Contact Committee Chair
Joint Committee on Cybersecurity, Information Technology and BiotechnologyRosapepe, JimContact Committee Chair
Joint Committee on Fair Practices and State Personnel OversightMuse, C. Anthony and Jones, Adrienne A.Contact Committee Chair
Joint Committee on Federal RelationsFeldman, Brian J.Contact Committee Chair
Joint Committee on Gaming OversightKing, Nancy J. and Luedtke, Eric G.Contact Committee Chair
Joint Committee on Legislative EthicsRaskin, Jamie and Holmes, Marvin E., Jr.Contact Committee Chair
Joint Committee on Legislative Information Technology and Open GovernmentDeGrange, James E., Sr.Contact Committee Chair
Joint Committee on the Management of Public FundsRosapepe, Jim and Gutierrez, Ana SolContact Committee Chair
Joint Committee on Unemployment Insurance OversightMiddleton, Thomas M.Contact Committee Chair
Worker's Compensation Benefit and Insurance Oversight CommitteeKlausmeier, Katherine and Jameson, SallyContact Committee Chair

JointChair Vice ChairContact
Joint Committee on Investigation
Joint Committee on ProtocolBenson, Joanne C., Edwards, George C. and Frush, BarbaraContact Committee Chair

Special JointChair Vice ChairContact
Joint Committee on PensionsPeters, Douglas J. J. and Barnes, BenContact Committee Chair
Joint Subcommittee on Program Open Space/Agricultural Land PreservationMiddleton, Thomas M.Contact Committee Chair

OtherChair Vice ChairContact
Joint Oversight Committee on the Maryland Health Benefit ExchangeMiddleton, Thomas M. and Hammen, Peter A.Contact Committee Chair
Maryland Economic Development & Business Climate Commission
Nursing Homes and Assisted Living Facilities, Oversight Committee on Quality of Care in
Rate of Uninsured Drivers, Task Force to Study Methods to ReduceMiddleton, Thomas M.Contact Committee Chair
Tax Credit Evaluation CommitteeMadaleno, Richard S., Jr. and Frick, C. WilliamContact Committee Chair

January 30, 2015 9:47 A.M.