Bill number does not exist. Enter a vaild keyword.
Facebook Twitter Youtube Channels MY MGA

Statutes Text

Article - Tax - Property




§14–512.

    (a)    Any taxpayer, the governing body of a county, a municipal corporation, or the Attorney General may appeal a final action by the Department on an appeal under § 14-504 of this subtitle to the Maryland Tax Court. The appeal shall be made on or before 30 days from:

        (1)    the date of the final action of the Department; or

        (2)    the earlier of the date of delivery or mailing of the notice of the final action to the address specified under § 14-507 of this subtitle, if a request is made under § 14-507 of this subtitle.

    (b)    The person against whom final action has been taken by the Department under § 14-506 of this subtitle may appeal the action to the Maryland Tax Court on or before 30 days after the earlier of the delivery or mailing of a notice of final action by the Department.

    (c)    Except as provided in subsection (d) of this section, the person who submitted a property tax refund claim under Subtitle 9 of this title, the Department, a county, or a municipal corporation may appeal a final determination of a property tax refund claim by a refunding authority to the Maryland Tax Court on or before 30 days from the date that the refunding authority mails the notice of its determination.

    (d)    The person who submitted a tax refund claim under § 14-907 or § 14-908 of this title may appeal any final action taken under § 14-911 of this title to the Maryland Tax Court on or before 30 days from the date that the notice of disallowance is received by the person. However, if a refund claim under § 14-911 of this title is not allowed or disallowed on or before 6 months from the date of filing the claim, the person who filed the claim may:

        (1)    deem the claim to be finally disallowed; and

        (2)    submit an appeal to the Maryland Tax Court.

    (e)    On or before 30 days from the date of the determination, any taxpayer, the State, a county, or a municipal corporation may appeal a determination of a property tax credit or relief under § 14-509(c) of this subtitle by a property tax assessment appeal board to the Maryland Tax Court.

    (f)    (1)    Any taxpayer, a municipal corporation, the Attorney General, the Department, or the governing body of a county may appeal a determination made by a property tax assessment appeal board under § 14–509(a) or (b) of this subtitle to the Maryland Tax Court.

        (2)    The appeal shall be made:

            (i)    on or before 30 days after the determination under § 14–509(a) or (b) of this subtitle;

            (ii)    on or before 30 days from the date of mailing a notice of the determination to the address requested under § 14–507 of this subtitle; or

            (iii)    if the appellant is the Department, on or before 30 days from the date the board sends written notice of its determination, by mail or otherwise, to the Department.

        (3)    Unless a taxpayer previously appealed as required by § 14–502 or § 14–503 of this subtitle to a property tax assessment appeal board, the taxpayer may not appeal to the Maryland Tax Court under this subsection.

        (4)    An appeal under this subsection shall state:

            (i)    that the value or classification is erroneous because of overvaluation or undervaluation;

            (ii)    that the assessment is unequal because it is made at a higher proportion of value than other property of the same class; or

            (iii)    any other errors that may exist for which an appeal is allowed and because of which the petitioner claims to be injured.

        (5)    (i)    Unless extended by the court at the request of a party, the Maryland Tax Court shall hear and determine all appeals under this subsection on or before:

                1.    for an appeal other than an appeal of a determination regarding an assessment for residential property, 120 days from the date the appeal is entered; and

                2.    for an appeal of a determination regarding an assessment for residential property, 90 days from the date the appeal is entered.

            (ii)    Any party to an appeal may request the court to extend the 120 or 90 day requirement.

            (iii)    The court may grant an extension if it deems the request to be valid.

        (6)    For any appeal under this subsection to the Maryland Tax Court, the Department and the taxpayer shall, at least 10 days before a hearing on the appeal, exchange any written appraisals to be used for the purpose of placing a value on the property.

    (g)    An appeal to the Maryland Tax Court under this section shall be deemed to be filed within the time allowed for the appeal if a written petition is mailed to the Maryland Tax Court with a postmark date within the time allowed for the appeal.



Click to return on the top page