Bill number does not exist. Enter a vaild keyword.


Delegate Adelaide C. Eckardt

Eckardt, Adelaide C.
Caroline, Dorchester, Talbot, and Wicomico
Committee Assignment(s)
Annapolis Info
320 House Office Building
6 Bladen Street
Annapolis, MD 21401
Phone: 410-841-3343
Toll-free in MD
Fax 410-841-3299
Interim Info
601 Locust Street
Suite 202
Cambridge, MD 21613
Phone 410-221-6561
District 37B
Eckardt, Adelaide C.
First elected to the Maryland House of Delegates, 1994. Member of the House since 1995.
Current Assignments
2003- Appropriations Committee
2003- Health and Human Resources Subcommittee of the Appropriations Committee
2003- Oversight Committee on Pensions of the Appropriations Committee
2004- Capital Budget Subcommittee of the Appropriations Committee
2003- Spending Affordability Committee
2007- Joint Committee on Administrative, Executive, and Legislative Review (AELR)
1999- Joint Committee on Children, Youth and Families
2003- Joint Committee on Welfare Reform
2009- Joint Committee on Fair Practices and State Personnel Oversight
1995- House Special Committee on Drug and Alcohol Abuse
1995- Chair, Dorchester County House Delegation
2011- Chair, Eastern Shore House Delegation
1995- Women Legislators of Maryland
Past House Service
Joint Committee on Health Care Delivery and Financing, 2003-2011; Joint Committee on Welfare Reform, 2003-2014; Joint Committee on Fair Practices, 2003-2009; Chair, Caroline County Delegation, 1995-2007; Joint Committee on Legislative Ethics, 2003-2006; Acting Chair, Eastern Shore Delegation, 2003; Joint Technology Oversight Committee, 2000-2003; Deputy Minority Whip, 1999-2003; Joint Committee on Access to Mental Health Services, 2005-2014; Real Estate and Housing Subcommittee of the Economic Matters Committee, 1999-2003; Science and Technology Subcommittee of the Economic Matters Committee, 1999-2003; Economic Matters Committee, 1995-2003; Health Insurance Subcommittee of the Economic Matters Committee, 1995-2003; Special Committee on Gaming, 2001; Special Joint Committee on Competitive Taxation and Economic Development, 1996-1997.
Public Service
Girls' Services Strategic Plan Task Force, Dept. of Juvenile Services, 2010; Workgroup on Cultural Competency and Workforce Development for Mental Health Professionals, 2007-2008; President, Women Legislators of Maryland, 2007-2008; President-Elect, Women Legislators of Maryland, 2006-2007; First Vice President, Women Legislators of Maryland, 2005-2006; Mental Health Transformation Working Group, 2005-; Second Vice President, Women Legislators of Maryland, 2004-2005; Delegate, Republican Party National Convention, 2004; Secretary, Women Legislators of Maryland, 2003-2004, 2000-2001, 1998-1999; Task Force to Study the Maryland Heritage Structure Rehabilitation Tax Credit Program, 2003-; Advisory Board, Institute for Public Affairs and Civic Engagement, Salisbury University, 2002-; Mid-Shore Regional Council, 2001-; Endorsement Committee, Women Legislators of Maryland, 2001-; Finance Committee, Women Legislators of Maryland, 2001-; Legislative Committee, Women Legislators of Maryland, 2001-; Tri-County Council for the Lower Eastern Shore of Maryland, 2001; Governor's Task Force on Eastern Shore Economic Development, 1999-2001; Availability Committee of Task Force to Study Increasing the Availability of Substance Abuse Programs, 1998-2001; Human Services and Welfare Committee, National Conference of State Legislatures.
Republican Party Caucus, 2007-; Maryland Veterans Caucus, 2006-; Taxpayers Protection Caucus, 2003-; Maryland Bicycle and Pedestrian Caucus, 2003-; Maryland Rural Caucus, 2002-; Maryland Legislative Sportsmen's Caucus, 2001-; Board of Directors, Leadership Maryland, Inc., 2001-; President, Maryland Nurses Association (Legislative Chair, 1986-89, 93-94), 1989-1991; Dorchester County Republican Central Committee, 1986-1994; Executive Committee, Maryland Hospital Association, 1993-; Board of Directors, Dorchester General Hospital, 1988-; Board Member, Chesapeake Health Planning Systems; Maryland Nurses Association; American Nurses Association; American Ortho-Psychiatric Association; Sigma Theta Tau; Past President, Chesapeake Health Planning Systems; Past Vice President, Chesapeake Health Planning Systems.
John R. Hargreaves Distinguished Legislative Fellow, Salisbury University , 2009; Certificate of Appreciation, Maryland Municipal League , 2008; Maryland's Top 100 Women, Daily Record, Circle of Excellence , 2007, 2005, 2003; Outstanding Rural Legislator Award, Rural Maryland Council , 2003; Outstanding Board Member Award, Maryland Nurses Association , 1992; Nurse of the Year, District 4, Maryland Nurses Association , 1991, 1986; Rosalie S. Abrams Legislative Award, Maryland Nurses Association , 1988; Psychiatric Nursing Award, University of Maryland Graduate School of Nursing , 1981; Recognition for Ongoing Commitment to and Support for Children, Youth, and Families, Local Management Board .
Biographical Information
Born, Bryn Mawr, Pennsylvania, September 8, 1943; Marple Newton Senior High School, 1964; Bryn Mawr Hospital School of Nursing, R.N. Diploma, 1964; University of Maryland School of Nursing, B.S., 1978, M.S., 1981; Regional Team, Mental Hygiene Administration, 1983-85; Adjunct Faculty, Salisbury State University, 1985; Adjunct Faculty, University of Maryland School of Nursing, 1991-99; Psychiatric Nurse Clinical Specialist, Eastern Shore Hospital Center, 1985-2003 (employed since 1973); Married, Three sons, Seven grandchildren.
Last Updated: 10/15/2019 3:24 PM
Click to return on the top page