Bill number does not exist. Enter a vaild keyword.


Senator James E. DeGrange, Sr.

DeGrange, James E., Sr.
Anne Arundel
Committee Assignment(s)
Rules Committee (Vice Chair)
Budget and Taxation Committee
Executive Nominations Committee
Annapolis Info
101 James Senate Office Building
11 Bladen Street
Annapolis, MD 21401
Phone 410-841-3593 | 301-858-3593
Toll-free in MD
Fax 410-841-3589 | 301-858-3589
Interim Info
101 James Senate Office Building
11 Bladen Street
Annapolis, MD 21401
Phone 410-841-3593 | 301-858-3593
Fax 410-841-3589 | 301-858-3589
District 32
DeGrange, James E., Sr.
First elected to the Senate in 1998. Member of the Senate since 1999.
Current Assignments
2003- Budget and Taxation Committee
2003- Chair, Public Safety, Transportation, and Environment Subcommittee of the Budget and Taxation Committee
2007- Chair, Capital Budget Subcommittee of the Budget and Taxation Committee
2015 Vice-Chair, Rules Committee
2015 Executive Nominations Committee
2014 Spending Affordability Committee (Senate Chair 2011-2014)
2016 Senate Chair, Joint Committee on Legislative Ethics
1999- Joint Committee on Protocol
2013- Joint Committee on Gaming Oversight
2004 Maryland Veterans Caucus
Past Senate Service
21st Century School Facilities Commission, 2016-2017; Joint Committee on Legislative Technology and Open Government (Chair, 2015- 1018), 2015-2018; Standing Committee on Reapportionment and Redistricting, 2011-2012; Joint Legislative and Executive Commission on Oversight of Public/Private Partnerships, 2011-2012; Joint Committee on Base Realignment and Closure, 2008-2011; Legislative Policy Committee, 2008-2017; Joint Legislative Work Group to Study State, County, and Municipal Fiscal Relationships, 2009-2010; Vice Chair, Executive Nominations Committee, 2007-2014; Joint Committee on the Selection of the State Treasurer, 2007, 2003; Senate Chair, Spending Affordability Committee, 2011-2014; Special Joint Committee on Pensions, 2004-2006; Majority Whip, 2003-2006; Pensions Subcommittee of the Budget and Taxation Committee, 2003-2006; Joint Subcommittee on Program Open Space and Agricultural Land Preservation, 1999-2006; Joint Committee on Administrative, Executive, and Legislative Review, 2002-2003; Joint Technology Oversight Committee, 2000-2003; Senate Committee on Redistricting, 2001-2002; Chair, Anne Arundel County Senate Delegation, 2001-2002; Finance Committee, 2000-2002; Special Committee on Gaming, 2001; Health, Education, and Human Resources Subcommittee of the Budget and Taxation Committee, 1999; Senate Chair, Special Joint Commission on Public Safety & Security in State & Local correctional Facilities, 2013.
Public Service
Advisory Council on the Impact of Regulations on Small Businesses, 2015-; Communications Tax Reform Commission, 2012-2013; Local Development Council, Anne Arundel County, 2012-; Co-Chair, Maryland Commission on Cybersecurity Innovation and Excellence, 2011-2012; State Center Executive Committee, 2009-; Economic Development, Transportation, and Cultural Affairs Committee, Southern Legislative Conference, 2008-; Statewide Interoperability Executive Committee, 2008-; Fiscal Affairs and Government Operations Committee, Southern Legislative Conference, 2008-; Budgets and Revenue Committee, National Conference of State Legislatures, 2007-; Transit Funding Study Steering Committee, 2006-2007; Joint Commission on the Maryland Port Administration, 2005-2006; Drug Treatment Court Commission, 2003-2006; Task Force on Lending Equity within Financial Institutions Providing State Depository Services, 2005; Task Force on the Exception of Law Enforcement Officers’ Pensions from Taxation, 2004-2005; Task Force on Missing Vulnerable Adults, 2004-2005; Transportation Committee, National Conference of State Legislatures, 2004-; Task Force on Parking for Individuals with Disabilities, 2004; Task Force to Evaluate the Development and Construction of a Magnetic Levitation (MAGLEV) Transportation System in Maryland Between Baltimore and the District of Columbia, 2002-2003; Council on Management and Productivity, 1999-2003; Task Force on Gasoline Zone-Pricing in Maryland, 2000-2001; Task Force to Ensure Utility Services, 1999-2000; State Lottery Commission, 1991-1999; Anne Arundel County Council, 1994-1998.
Maryland Military installation Caucus, 2017-; Maryland Legislative Sportsman’s Caucus, 2001-; Anne Arundel Community College Foundation, 1996-2000; Advisory Board, Salvation Army, 1995-1998; Board of Directors, Baltimore-Washington Medical Center Foundation (formerly North Arundel Hospital Foundation Board), 1993-; Take Back Our Streets, Inc. (President, 1995- ), 1992-; Youth Baseball Coach, Glen Burnie Boys Baseball and Harundale Youth Sports League, 1976-1989; Board of Directors, Glen Burnie Mutual Savings Bank (Secretary-Treasurer, 1990-1995, President 1995- ), 1984-; Rotary Club of Glen Burnie (Board of Directors, 1987-1989, President, 1992-1993), 1984-; Glen Burnie Improvement Association (Board of Directors, 1985-89), 1970-.
Legacy Award, Community Development Network of Maryland, 2017; Outstanding Service Award, University of Maryland College Park Foundation, 2016; Maryland PTA Presidential Champion of Education Award, 2013; Maryland Council for American Private Education (CAPE) Champion of Education Award, 2013; Significant Public Service Award, Rotary Club of Glen Burnie, 2012; Alumni Wall of Honor, Glen Burnie High School, 2011; Certificate of Appreciation, Maryland Municipal League, 2011, 2010, 2008; Outstanding Legislator of the Year, Maryland Business for Responsive Government, 2008-2011; Distinguished Legislator Award, Maryland Municipal League, 2009; Recognition Award, Maryland Association of Counties, 2007; Outstanding Employer Partner, Maryland Chamber of Commerce, 2005; Paul Harris Fellow Award, Rotary Club of Glen Burnie, 2000.
Biographical Information
Born, Baltimore, Maryland, September 24, 1949; Glen Burnie High School, 1968; Anne Arundel Community College; U.S. Army Reserve, 1968-1974; Vice President, DeGrange Lumber Co., Inc., 1968-1995; President, DeGrange Enterprises, Inc., 1996- 2000; Youth Baseball Coach, Glen Burnie Boys Baseball and Harundale Youth Sports League, 1976-1989; Member, Holy Trinity Catholic Church; Married; three children; nine grandchildren.
Last Updated: 1/20/2020 10:26 AM
Click to return on the top page