Bill number does not exist. Enter a vaild keyword.


2011 Regular Session


File Code: State Government - Agencies, Offices, and Officials
Sponsored By:
Delegates Haynes, Barve, Branch, Braveboy, Gaines, Glass, Howard, Kach, Kipke, Pena-Melnyk, Reznik, B. Robinson, Rosenberg, Ross, Stukes, Tarrant, F. Turner, V. Turner, Walker, Washington, Hammen, Pendergrass, Bromwell, Costa, Cullison, Donoghue, Elliott, Frank, Hubbard, A. Kelly, McDonough, Morhaim, Murphy, Nathan-Pulliam, Oaks, and Ready
State Government - Commemorative Days - Thurgood Marshall Day


Requiring the Governor annually to proclaim July 2 as Thurgood Marshall Day; and requiring the proclamation to urge educational and cultural organizations to observe Thurgood Marshall Day properly.

History by Legislative and Calendar Date

Legislative date is used to record history occurring in the Chambers otherwise Calendar date is used.
House Action
First Reading Health and Government Operations
Hearing 3/9 at 1:00 p.m.

Favorable with Amendments Report by Health and Government Operations
Favorable with Amendments Report Adopted
Second Reading Passed with Amendments
Third Reading Passed (137-1)
Senate Action
First Reading Education Health and Environmental Affairs
Hearing 4/5 at 1:00 p.m.
Unfavorable Report by Education Health and Environmental Affairs

Sponsored by:

Delegate Keith E. Haynes, District 44
Delegate Kumar P. Barve, District 17
Delegate Talmadge Branch, District 45
Delegate Aisha N. Braveboy, District 25
Delegate Eric M. Bromwell, District 8
Delegate Robert A. Costa, District 33B
Delegate Bonnie Cullison, District 19
Delegate John P. Donoghue, District 2C
Delegate Donald B. Elliott, District 4B
Delegate William J. Frank, District 42
Delegate Tawanna P. Gaines, District 22
Delegate Glen Glass, District 34A
Delegate Peter A. Hammen, District 46
Delegate Carolyn J. B. Howard, District 24
Delegate James W. Hubbard, District 23A
Delegate Wade Kach, District 5B
Delegate Ariana B. Kelly, District 16
Delegate Nicholaus R. Kipke, District 31
Delegate Pat McDonough, District 7
Delegate Dan K. Morhaim, District 11
Delegate Peter Murphy, District 28
Delegate Shirley Nathan-Pulliam, District 10
Delegate Nathaniel T. Oaks, District 41
Delegate Joseline A. Pena-Melnyk, District 21
Delegate Shane E. Pendergrass, District 13
Delegate Justin Ready, District 5A
Delegate Kirill Reznik, District 39
Delegate Barbara Robinson, District 40
Delegate Samuel I. Rosenberg, District 41
Delegate Justin D. Ross, District 22
Delegate Melvin L. Stukes, District 44
Delegate Shawn Z. Tarrant, District 40
Delegate Frank S. Turner, District 13
Delegate Veronica Turner, District 26
Delegate Jay Walker, District 26
Delegate Mary L. Washington, District 43

Bill indexed under the following Subjects:

Historical Matters
Holidays and Special Dates

Bill affects the following Statute:

State Government
( 13-410 )


All documents except Roll Call Votes are displayed in PDF format:
Bill Text: First Reading, Third Reading, Enrolled
Fiscal and Policy Note: Available
Number: 576588/01     Offered on: March 25, 2011   at: 5:27 p.m.     Status: Adopted
Committee Votes :
Health and Government Operations
Education, Health, and Environmental Affairs
Roll Call Vote (Legislative date is shown):
March 25, 2011: Third Reading Passed (137-1)
Click to return on the top page