Bill number does not exist. Enter a vaild keyword.


Senator Katherine Klausmeier

Klausmeier, Katherine
Committee Assignment(s)
Executive Nominations Committee
Finance Committee
Rules Committee
Annapolis Info
123 James Senate Office Building
11 Bladen Street
Annapolis, MD 21401
Phone 410-841-3620 | 301-858-3620
Toll-free in MD 1-800-492-7122 ext. 3620
Fax 410-841-3085
Interim Info
4100 Walter Avenue
Baltimore, MD 21236
Phone 410-256-1353
District 8
Klausmeier, Katherine
First elected to the Senate in 2002. Member of the Senate since 2003.
Current Assignments
2020 President Pro Tem Emeritus
2003- Finance Committee
2007- Executive Nominations Committee
2007 Rules Committee (Chair, 2018)
2015 Joint Committee on Behavioral Health and Opioid Use Disorders (Senate Chair, 2019)
2011- Senate Chair, Workers’ Compensation Benefit and Insurance Oversight Committee
2017 Joint Committee on Legislative Ethics
1995- Women Legislators of Maryland
2015 Maryland Veterans Caucus (Legislative Review)
Past Senate Service
President Pro Tem, 2019; Deputy Majority Leader, 2015-2019; Transportation Subcommittee of the Finance Committee, 2013-2015; Property and Casualty Subcommittee of the Finance Committee, 2015-2017; Joint Committee on Base Realignment and Closure, 2008-2011; Joint Committee on Welfare Reform, 2009-2010; Joint Committee on the Selection of the State Treasurer, 2007; Joint Committee on Protocol, 2007-2019; Assistant Deputy Majority Whip, 2003-2006; Finance Committee, 2003; Division of Labor and Industry Sunset Evaluation Work Group of the Finance Committee, 2003; Joint Committee on Transparency and Open Government, 2011-2014; Joint Electric Universal Service Program (EUSP) Workgroup, Chair, 2012-2014; Chair, Senate Select Committee No.4, Baltimore County, 2011-2016.
Past House Service 1995-2003
Environmental Matters Committee, 1995-2003; Health Subcommittee of the Environmental Matters Committee, 1999-2003; Agriculture, Environment, and Natural Resources Subcommittee of the Environmental Matters Committee, 2002-2003; Public Utilities Subcommittee of the Environmental Matters Committee, 1999-2002; Environmental and Natural Resources Subcommittee of the Environmental Matters Committee, 1995-1999.
Public Service
School Safety Subcabinet Advisory Board, 2018-; Maryland Manufacturing Advisory Board, 2017-; Governor's Workforce Investment Board, 2011-; Co-Chair, Task Force on the Membership and Operation of the Baltimore County Board of Education, 2011; Chair, Commission on the Establishment of a Maryland Women in Military Service Monument, 2010-2014, 2006-2008; Task Force to Study How to Improve Financial Literacy in the State, 2008-2010; Maryland Commission on Autism, 2009-2012; Small Business Task Force, 2009; Economic Development, Transportation and Cultural Affairs Committee, Southern Legislative Conference, 2008-; Transportation Committee, National Conference of State Legislatures, 2007-; Joint Legislative Task Force on Small-Group Market Health Insurance, 2005-2007; Energy and Electric Utilities Committee, National Conference of State Legislatures, 2003-2007; Aquaculture Coordinating Council, 2006-; Agricultural Stewardship Commission, 2005-2006; Senate Special Commission on Electric Utility Deregulation Implementation, 2005-2006; Oversight Committee on Quality of Care in Nursing Homes and Assisted Living Facilities, 2005-2020; Oversight Committee on Quality of Care in Nursing Homes, 2000-2005; Co-Chair, Financial Education & Capability Commission, 2012-; Chair, Task Force to Study the Economic Development of the Maryland Seafood and Aquaculture Industries: Seafood Industry Workgroup, 2002-2004; Nutrient Management Advisory Committee, 1998-2004; Maryland Advisory Commission on Manufacturing Competitiveness, 2003-2017; Innovations in Aging Services Advisory Council, 2003; Commission on Environmental Justice and Sustainable Communities, 2001-2002; Task Force on Quality of Care in Nursing Facilities, 1999; Task Force to Study Retail Electric Competition and the Restructuring of the Electric Utility Industry, 1997-1998; Maryland Recycling Advisory Group, 1995-1997; State Council on Cancer Control, 1995-1996; Sound Barrier Review Panel, 1995-1996; Chair, Elected vs. Appointed School Board Task Force, Baltimore County, 1993; Election Judge, Baltimore County, 1992, 1990.
Maryland Military Installation Caucus, 2017-; Chesapeake Conservation Corps Program Board, 2010-; Maryland Alliance for Responsible Gambling, 2010-; Charles H. Hickey, Jr., School Advisory Board, 2005-; Maryland Legislative Sportsmen's Caucus, 2003-; Board of Directors, Maryland School for the Blind, 1995-; Gunpowder Elementary School PTA, (President, Legislative Representative, Member, School and Business Partnership Committee), 1991-1994, 1987-1989; Vice President, Commission for Women, Baltimore County (Vice President), 1991-1993; League of Women Voters, Baltimore County (Education Chair), 1991-1992; Child Life Council of America; Association for the Care of Children's Health; Eastern Baltimore Area Chamber of Commerce; Perry Hall and White Marsh Business Association; Honorary Life Membership, Maryland Parent Teacher Association (PTA).
First Citizen Award, Maryland Senate, 2017; Legislator of the Year, Mental Health Association of Maryland, 2017; Maryland's Top 100 Women, The Daily Record, 2015; Recognition Award, Maryland Association of Counties, 2015; State Senate, House of Delegates, Baltimore County Council Commendation for outstanding work as President, Gunpowder Elementary School PTA.
Biographical Information
Born, Baltimore, Maryland, February 22, 1950; The Catholic High School of Baltimore, 1968; Essex Community College, A.A., General Studies, 1971; Towson State University; Former Administrator, Human Resources Department, St. Joseph Medical Center; Developed the Child Life Department at St. Joseph Hospital; Married, Two daughters.
Last Updated: 7/13/2020 1:48 PM
Click to return on the top page