Bill number does not exist. Enter a vaild keyword.


Senator Adelaide C. Eckardt

Eckardt, Adelaide C.
Caroline, Dorchester, Talbot, and Wicomico
Committee Assignment(s)
Budget and Taxation Committee
Executive Nominations Committee
Reapportionment and Redistricting
Annapolis Info
322 James Senate Office Building
11 Bladen Street
Annapolis, MD 21401
Phone 410-841-3590 | 301-858-3590
Toll-free in MD 1-800-492-7122 ext. 3590
Fax 410-841-3087 | 301-858-3087
Interim Info
601 Locust Street
Suite 202
Cambridge, MD 21613
Phone 410-221-6561 | 301-858-3590
District 37
Eckardt, Adelaide C.
Elected to the Maryland House of Delegates, 1994. Member of the House 1995 -2015. Elected to the Maryland Senate in 2014. Member of the Senate since 2015.
Current Assignments
2015 Budget and Taxation Committee
2021 Capital Budget Subcommittee of the Budget and Taxation Committee
2015 Health and Human Services Subcommittee of the Budget and Taxation Committee
2015 Pensions Subcommittee of the Budget and Taxation Committee
2020 Executive Nominations Committee
2015 Joint Committee on Administrative, Executive, and Legislative Review (AELR)
2019 Joint Audit and Evaluation Committee
2015 Joint Committee on Children, Youth, and Families
2015 Joint Committee on Fair Practices and State Personnel Oversight
2015 Joint Committee on Pensions
2019 Senate Co-Chair, Joint Committee on Protocol
1995 Women Legislators of Maryland (President, 2007-2008; Executive Committee, 2017; Treasurer, 2019-2020, Secretary 2021-2022)
Past Senate Service
Reapportionment and Redistricting Committee, 2022; Senate Vaccine Oversight Workgroup, 2021-2022; Joint Committee on the Selection of the State Treasurer, 2015; Joint Audit Committee, 2015-2019.
Past House Service
Appropriations Committee, 2003-2014; Joint Committee on Health Care Delivery and Financing, 2003-2011; Joint Committee on Welfare Reform, 2003-2014; Joint Committee on Fair Practices, 2003-2009; Chair, Caroline County Delegation, 1995-2007; Joint Committee on Legislative Ethics, 2003-2006; Acting Chair, Eastern Shore Delegation, 2003; Joint Technology Oversight Committee, 2000-2003; Deputy Minority Whip, 1999-2003; Joint Committee on Access to Mental Health Services, 2005-2014; Real Estate and Housing Subcommittee of the Economic Matters Committee, 1999-2003; Science and Technology Subcommittee of the Economic Matters Committee, 1999-2003; Economic Matters Committee, 1995-2003; Health Insurance Subcommittee of the Economic Matters Committee, 1995-2003; Special Committee on Gaming, 2001; Special Joint Committee on Competitive Taxation and Economic Development, 1996-1997; Health and Human Resources Subcommittee of the Appropriations Committee, 2003-2014; Oversight Committee on Pensions of the Appropriations Committee, 2003-2014; Capital Budget Subcommittee of the Appropriations Committee, 2004-2014; Spending Affordability Committee, 2003-2014; Joint Committee on Administrative, Executive, and Legislative Review (AELR, 2007-2014; Joint Committee on Children, Youth and Families, 1999-2014; Joint Committee on Fair Practices and State Personnel Oversight, 2009-2014; House Special Committee on Drug and Alcohol Abuse, 1995-2014; Chair, Dorchester County House Delegation, 1995-2014; Chair, Eastern Shore House Delegation, 2011-2014.
Public Service
Commission to Study Mental and Behavioral Health in Maryland, 2019-; Maryland Sexual Assault Evidence KIt Policy and Funding Committee, 2019-; Harry R. Hughes Center for Agro-Ecology, Inc., Board of Directors, 2018-; Co-chair, Task Force to Study Tax Sales in Maryland, 2017-2018; Task Force on Rural Internet, Broadband, Wireless, and Cellular Service, 2017-2019; Maryland Commission on Suicide Prevention, 2017-; Two Generation Family Economic Security Commission, 2017-2018; Oversight Committee on Quality Care in Nursing Homes and Assisted Living Facilities, 2020-; Maryland Environmental Trust, 2015-; Girls' Services Strategic Plan Task Force, Dept. of Juvenile Services, 2010; Rural Maryland Council, 2009-2015; Workgroup on Cultural Competency and Workforce Development for Mental Health Professionals, 2007-2008; Mental Health Transformation Working Group, 2005-2011; Delegate, Republican Party National Convention, 2004; Task Force to Study the Maryland Heritage Structure Rehabilitation Tax Credit Program, 2003; Advisory Board, Institute for Public Affairs and Civic Engagement, Salisbury University, 2002-; Mid-Shore Regional Council, 2001-; Tri-County Council for the Lower Eastern Shore of Maryland, 2001-; Governor's Task Force on Eastern Shore Economic Development, 1999-2001; Availability Committee of Task Force to Study Increasing the Availability of Substance Abuse Programs, 1998-2001; Human Services and Welfare Committee, National Conference of State Legislatures.
Republican Party Caucus, 2007-; Maryland Veterans Caucus, 2006-; Taxpayers Protection Caucus, 2003-; Maryland Bicycle and Pedestrian Caucus, 2003-; Maryland Rural Caucus, 2002-; Maryland Legislative Sportsmen's Caucus, 2001-; Board of Directors, Leadership Maryland, Inc., 2001-; Women Legislators of Maryland (Secretary 1998-99; Secretary, 2000-01; Finance Committee, 2001-02; Secretary, 2003-04; 2nd Vice President, 2004-05), 1995-2015; Women Legislators of Maryland (1st Vice President, 2005-06; President-elect, 2006-07; President, 2007-08), 1995-2015; President, Maryland Nurses Association (Legislative Chair, 1986-89, 93-94), 1989-1991; Dorchester County Republican Central Committee, 1986-1994; Executive Committee, Maryland Hospital Association, 1993-; Board of Directors, Dorchester General Hospital, 1988-; Board Member, Chesapeake Health Planning Systems; Maryland Nurses Association; American Nurses Association; American Ortho-Psychiatric Association; Sigma Theta Tau; Past President, Chesapeake Health Planning Systems; Past Vice President, Chesapeake Health Planning Systems.
Legislative Champion Award, Women Legislators of Maryland, 2018; Outstanding Rural Health Legislator Award, Maryland Rural Health Association, 2018; President's Award, Community Development Network of Maryland, 2017; Recognition Award (school funding and public health), Maryland Association of Counties, 2015; John R. Hargreaves Distinguished Legislative Fellow, Salisbury University, 2009; Certificate of Appreciation, Maryland Municipal League, 2008; Maryland's Top 100 Women, Daily Record, Circle of Excellence, 2007, 2005, 2003; Outstanding Rural Legislator Award, Rural Maryland Council, 2003; Outstanding Board Member Award, Maryland Nurses Association, 1992; Nurse of the Year, District 4, Maryland Nurses Association, 1991, 1986; Rosalie S. Abrams Legislative Award, Maryland Nurses Association, 1988; Psychiatric Nursing Award, University of Maryland Graduate School of Nursing, 1981; Recognition for Ongoing Commitment to and Support for Children, Youth, and Families, Local Management Board.
Biographical Information
Born, Bryn Mawr, Pennsylvania, September 8, 1943; Marple Newton Senior High School, 1964; Bryn Mawr Hospital School of Nursing, R.N. Diploma, 1964; University of Maryland School of Nursing, B.S., 1978, M.S., 1981; Regional Team, Mental Hygiene Administration, 1983-85; Adjunct Faculty, Salisbury State University, 1985; Adjunct Faculty, University of Maryland School of Nursing, 1991-99; Psychiatric Nurse Clinical Specialist, Eastern Shore Hospital Center, 1985-2003 (employed since 1973); Married; three sons; nine grandchildren.
Last Updated: 8/10/2022 9:20 AM
Click to return on the top page